Arkansas Learner's Permit

How to Get an Arkansas Learners Permit and License as a Teenager

Zutobi
by Zutobi · Updated Sep 13, 2021

Are you a teenager looking to get your Arkansas learner’s permit? Well, then you’ve come to the right place. If you are under 21, you need to go through the GDL program based on your age before you qualify for a full license. 

In this article, we’ll go through all the details so you know exactly what to expect.

The Arkansas Instruction Permit

If you are 14 or 15 years old, you’ll need to obtain an instruction permit, also known as a learner’s permit, as the first step in Arkansas Graduated Licensing System. The instruction permit gives you the ability to practice your driving skills under the supervision of a licensed driver 21 years of age or older.

It is valid for 1 year from the date of the passed knowledge exam. If you are older than 15 years old, you can skip this step and go straight to a learner’s license.

To obtain your instruction permit you’ll need to complete the Knowledge Exam and the Vision Test. To then progress to a learner’s license, you will also have to prepare for and pass the driving skills test. We’ll discuss each of these tests later in this article.

The Arkansas Learner’s License

A learner’s license is a restricted license issued to persons between 14 and 16 years old that have passed the skills test.

  • The license will be restricted until the applicant turns 16 years old AND accumulates 6 months of restricted driving experience. You can then apply to progress to an Arkansas Intermediate License.
  • Similar to the Instruction Permit, you may only drive under the supervision of a licensed driver 21 years of age or older. 

The Vision Test 

The vision test will ensure that your vision does not fall under the minimum allowed levels. If you wear corrective lenses or contacts, make sure to bring them for the exam. You must show you have 20/20 vision either with or without corrective lenses to progress.

The Written Exam

The written exam consists of 25 questions, and you have to get 20 questions right to pass. It will cover everything you learn in the Arkansas Driver License Study Guide.

Roughly 49% of people fail their written exam the first time, so studying is essential to save you time and extra trips. We recommend using Zutobi to improve your chances and pass on the first try! You can try our free Arkansas practice test here.

The Driving Skills Test

The Arkansas skills test is a three-phase exam, and you must bring your own vehicle. You must bring your permit, a licensed driver to take you to and from the testing site, and proof of insurance and registration for the vehicle as well.

  • First is the vehicle inspection to make sure it is safe to drive. If the vehicle is deemed unsafe, you will have to reschedule your test after the issues are resolved.
  • Second, you will demonstrate knowledge of the location and use of the parts of the vehicle like brakes, mirrors, blinkers, and emergency lights.
  • Finally, you will take a 10-20 minute drive with your examiner to demonstrate your knowledge of driver safety, state laws, and common driving maneuvers 

The Steps to Getting Your Arkansas License as a Teenager

  1. Collect Your Paperwork. You will need the following to apply for your learner’s license:
    • Your Birth Certificate. It MUST be original and follow all the criteria on the 1-2-3 Checklist. If you are adopted, you may also need to bring the corresponding adoption papers.
    • Permission Form (if you are under 18). If your parent or guardian can not come in person, you will need them to sign a form in front of a notary stating you have permission to drive and they will take financial responsibility in the event of an accident or traffic violation. Otherwise, they will turn in this form when they arrive with you.
    • Secondary Identification. You will need to bring a second form of identification. You can bring at least one of the items below or check the 1-2-3 Checklist for more options.
    • If you are under 18, you need proof of graduation or proof that you’re currently attending school.
    • Your Learner’s Permit. You must complete six months of supervised driving without a major driving violation or fault for an accident before you can apply for your license. You will surrender your permit after you pass the exams.
      • Arkansas State Id
      • A Work or School Id
      • Vehicle Registration in your name
      • IRS/Tax Forms or W-2 Form
  2. Find a Testing Location. You can find your nearest testing center and hours of operation by clicking your county on the map provided on this page, or by emailing driverslicense@asp.arkansas.gov
  3. Take Your Exams. Unless you are graduating from one license to the next, you will need to take the Vision Test, the Written Exam, and the Skills Test.
  4. Pay Your Fees. You will pay up to $40 for your licensing and road test fees (at the time of writing). You can find the full list of the Arkansas driver’s license durations and fees here.

Once you complete all these steps, you are ready to get on the road! Your learner’s license will either be printed on-site or you will receive a temporary paper version until your license arrives in the mail at your provided address.

That’s It!

That’s everything you need to know about getting your instruction permit and learner’s license as a teenager in the state of Arkansas. If you need any help studying for your upcoming knowledge or driving exams, then Zutobi is the perfect study resource with a summarized handbook, Arkansas practice tests, and a gamified learning experience.

sudent
Take our full course with tests and theory

550+ exam-like questions

All you need to ace your test

Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens

student image

Ace your DMV test, guaranteed