Is it time for your New York drivers license renewal? We know that it can be confusing with all the different options, requirements, and steps. But it doesn’t have to be.
In this guide, we’ll explain everything you need to know to renew your driver’s license in New York .
You can renew your driver’s license up to a year before it expires, and you can also renew up to two years after it expires. Any longer than that, and you will have to apply for a new license.
If you are about to turn 21, wait until you are within 40 days of your 21st birthday to renew your license. Then you will receive a license that does not have the “Under 21” label.
Keep in mind that while you have two years to renew your license, this is not a grace period to drive with an expired license.
New York State does not have a grace period to drive with an expired license. Driving with an expired license is a traffic violation. If you are caught driving with an expired license, you will face fines of $25 to $40, plus state and local charges. If your driver’s license has been expired for over 60 days, the fines increase even further!
You have the option to renew your NY driver’s license online, by mail, or in person at your local DMV office. We’ll go through all of the different options and requirements below.
Online renewal is a popular option for New York drivers since it allows you to renew your license from the comfort of your own home. You must renew online at the New York State DMV website.
You can renew by mail if you already have a REAL-ID or you plan to keep your standard ID.
If you’ve received a renewal notice, fill out the approved form and send the required fees by check or money order.
If you haven’t received a notice, you can follow these steps:
207 Genesee Street, Suite 6
Utica, NY 13501-2874
Note: You will not receive a temporary paper license in this method, so make sure you apply several weeks in advance if you plan to drive while you wait.
You must renew in person if you are updating your photo, license class, or swapping from a standard ID to an Enhanced or Real ID.
Here’s how you renew your NY driver’s license in person:
The Standard fee for a Class D operator’s license is $64.50.
You may also need to pay an MCTD fee. Transportation District (MCTD) fee applies to the Bronx, Kings (Brooklyn), New York (Manhattan), Queens, Richmond (Staten Island); Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester.
The MCTD fee is $1.00 for every 6 months the permit or driver’s license will be in effect. For an 8-year driver’s license, the MCTD fee is $16.
Note: Renewal fees may change, but these are the fees as of February 2021.
Starting Oct 1, 2021, a standard driver’s license will not qualify as your federal ID. If you plan to board a plane or enter a US government facility or military base, you will need a federally approved ID to do so. If you do not get a REAL-ID, you can still use a passport or other federal ID to enter these places.
That’s everything you need to know about renewing your driver’s license in the State of New York. If you need help with any renewal exams, then Zutobi is the perfect study resource to help you refresh the rules of the road in a quick and easy manner.
700+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Ace your DMV test, guaranteed