If you hold a driver’s license in the state of Alabama, you will be required to renew your identification every four years. Luckily, the state offers several options to keep your license valid. The Alabama DMV no longer sends renewal notices prior to your expiration date, so you must keep track of this information to avoid any fees or penalties.
Let’s go through exactly how to renew your Alabama driver’s license!
Your driver’s license is valid for four years from the date you receive it. The DMV will only send a renewal notice 30 days after your license has expired. If you’re not paying attention, your renewal date will creep on you faster than you might expect.
The state of Alabama only requires drivers to provide three documents (in addition to a renewal fee) when renewing their driver’s license – your current Alabama Driver’s License, Proof of Identity, and Proof of Residency.
Documents to prove identity and residency must be valid and current. Common identity proving documents include a US Passport, original birth certificate, or relevant citizenship documents. On the other hand, Alabama allows drivers to prove their residence by providing utility, mortgage, or lease documents with your name present.
At the time of writing, you will be subject to a fee of $36.25 when renewing your license in Alabama. The DMV allows drivers to pay in multiple different ways including cash, credit/debit, and money order.
The specific options eligible to you will depend on the renewal method you choose.
You can renew your driver’s license in three different ways.
– By mail
– In person
You can also renew your license in any county within the state, allowing for increased convenience throughout the renewal process.
Renewing by mail is a popular option for temporarily out-of-state residents or members of the military. If you fall in this category, you will also need to complete an Application for a Renewal or Duplicate License for Alabama Drivers Temporarily Out of State. The $36.25 renewal fee must be paid by money order and sent to the address below. In addition to the documents required to renew your Alabama driver’s license, you will also need to send in a copy of a military ID, employee ID, or student ID that proves your eligibility for renewal by mail.
Mail all documents to:
Alabama Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
PO. Box 1471
Montgomery, AL, 36102.
Online renewals are becoming a popular way for drivers to save time when they are looking to update their driver’s licenses. Unlike renewal by mail, all drivers are eligible for online renewals unless:
1. An address change is required
2. A name change is required
3. A new picture is needed
4. Your last renewal was completed online
The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency offers online driver services, allowing you to quickly renew online. However, you can only complete an online renewal after every other license expiration, or once every 8 years. With your current license and payment method in hand, proceed to the ALEA website and follow the instructions.
You will be charged the $36.25 renewal fee, as well as an online convenience fee. At the end of the portal, you will be allowed to download and print your temporary license. This paper identification will be valid for 30 days until your physical driver’s license arrives.
Renewing in person is the most traditional way to complete a driver’s license renewal. It is fairly straightforward, but will most likely be much more time consuming than the other two methods. However, completing your license renewal in person will certainly give you the peace of mind that it is done correctly.
Alabama drivers can visit any DMV in the state of Alabama to complete a driver’s license renewal. You will be required to pay the renewal fee by cash, credit card, or money order. The Department does not accept checks. After presenting your renewal documents and paying the fee, you will receive a temporary license that is valid for 30 days while your permanent license arrives in the mail.
Renewing an expired driver’s license is just as simple as renewing a valid one. A 60-day grace period is applied after your license is expired, allowing you a bit of additional time to complete the process. You will be charged a late fee after this grace period.
The state of Alabama allows drivers to renew their license up to 180 days after expiration without penalty. You will be notified by the DMV 30 days after your license expiration date as a reminder. Lastly, you may renew your license any time after the 180-day period, but within the three years after expiration. Renewed licenses issued under these circumstances will be set to expire 4 years from your previous expiration date, rather than the date of issuance.
Renewing your driver’s license in Alabama is simple and absolutely necessary to keep your legal driving status within the state. While the DMV offers a fairly generous grace period, you must stay up to date with your license expiration and renew on time. When that time comes, be sure to reference our guide to make the process painless!
550+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Ace your DMV test, guaranteed