Getting Your Alabama Learner’s Permit: A Complete Guide

Zutobi
by Zutobi · Updated Jul 02, 2021

If you’re looking to get your Alabama learner’s permit, you’ve come to the right place. In this article, we’ll go through all the details you need to know.

What is the Alabama Learners Permit?

In Alabama, anyone 15 years of age or older can get a learner’s permit. It is used to practice driving under the supervision of a licensed driver. It allows you to get used to the car and driving in general before being you drive unsupervised.

Every new driver under 18 years old must have driven with a permit before progressing to a restricted or unrestricted driver’s license.

How to Get a Learner’s Permit in Alabama

To obtain your permit, you have to:

  • Pass a written knowledge test that tests your knowledge of traffic laws, road signs, and Alabama traffic legislation. You need to score at least 24/30 to pass. 
  • Pass a vision test to determine your visual acuity is sufficient to operate a vehicle.
  • Pay the necessary fees.

Once you complete all of the above, you’ll be issued a Class D License with a “Y” restriction. This restriction means you MUST have a driving instructor or licensed adult over 21 in the seat beside you when you drive. 

If you are 19 or younger, you are required to have proof of either High School graduation or enrollment to apply for a permit.

The most difficult part of obtaining an Alabama driver’s permit is passing the knowledge test as statistics show that about 50% fail nationwide. We strongly recommend that you come prepared for the test so you don’t risk failure. Sign up for our popular Alabama DMV prep course or try our practice tests today.

What are the Learner’s Permit Restrictions?

When driving with a learner’s permit, you must abide by the following restrictions:

  • May not drive with more than one non-family member in the vehicle. 
  • May not drive between midnight and 6am unless accompanied by a parent or guardian unless:
    • You are traveling to or from work
    • You are traveling to or from a school-sponsored event
    • You are going to or from a religious sponsored event
    • You are driving due to a medical, fire, or law enforcement related emergency.
  • You may not use any handheld communication device under any circumstance while you drive. If you are caught, your permit will be extended or suspended.

What Comes Next

Restricted License

The restricted license is the next step and can be issued to anyone 16 years or older that is capable of operating a vehicle. You can obtain a restricted license by completing the road skills test.

This license will allow you to drive unsupervised, but it’s subject to a number of restrictions explained further below. 

Unrestricted License

Anyone between 16 to 18 that has driven with a learner’s permit for at least 6 months can apply for a full license.

You must pass a vision test, a knowledge test, and a road skills exam to get the license unless you have already passed these exams earlier on as part of the Graduated Licensing System. 

  • If you are 17 or younger, you must have the restricted license for at least 6 months before applying for an unrestricted license.
  • If you are 18 or older, you can skip the restricted license and go straight from a learner’s permit to a full license.

That’s It!

That’s everything you need to know about getting your Alabama learner’s permit. We hope this was helpful. If you need any help studying for your upcoming knowledge or driving exams, use Zutobi. Our platform is the perfect study resource with a summarized handbook, Alabama practice tests, and a gamified learning experience on the web and mobile.

Take our full course with tests and theory

550+ exam-like questions

All you need to ace your test

Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens

cloud
town
student image

Could you ace your DMV test?