In Iowa, drivers are eligible to start the process of applying for a driver’s license as early as 14 years old. Like many states, minors need to go through the Graduated Drivers License Program to get properly acclimated behind the wheel before receiving their full, adult driver’s license.
Getting a driver’s license can be confusing to many – we’ve made it simple.
Getting an instruction permit, also known as a learner’s permit, is the first step of the Graduated Drivers License Program and only necessary for those from the ages of 14 to 17. With an instruction permit, you will only be able to operate a motor vehicle with adult supervision.
You will need to apply for a learner’s permit at your local Iowa DMV location.
All new drivers will be required to take a vision test upon applying for a driver’s license or permit in the state.
You will also be given a written driving test designed to assess your knowledge of driving rules, traffic laws, and road signs. There are 35 multiple choice questions on the test. You must answer 28 correctly in order to pass the exam.
With that many questions on the written test, studying for it can be a daunting task. Luckily, Zutobi makes it easier for you. Our gamified e-learning platform has helped a quarter million students gain a better understanding of road laws in their state. Try Zutobi for free today!
If you are under 18, you will need written parental consent in order to get a permit.
Like most trips to the DMV, you will be required to bring documentation with you. You will need proof of the following:
You will be charged a $6 fee at the time of application.
Your Iowa learner’s permit will allow you to drive whenever you please as long as you have adult supervision. This adult must be at least 21 years of age with a valid driver’s license.
You must be at least 14 ½ years old and live over a mile from school to be eligible to apply for an Iowa minor school license. Driving to school is a responsibility held by your parents, bus driver, or another adult in your community. With a minor school license, you will be allowed to drive yourself to school without adult supervision.
If a minor school license is not necessary, you may skip directly to the intermediate license.
You will need to complete a state-approved driver education course in order to apply. Before you can apply, you will need to have held your permit for a minimum of 6 months.
You will need to schedule an appointment and bring in your completed forms in order to get your license issued. An $8 fee will be charged at the time of application.
The intermediate license is the second step in the Graduated Drivers License Program.
16 years of age is the earliest you’ll be able to apply for an intermediate driver’s license in Iowa. Your parent will be required to provide written consent from a parent or legal guardian.
A state-approved driver’s education course is necessary for getting your intermediate license. If you completed driver’s ed to gain your minor school license, you will not need to repeat this step.
You will need to hold an instruction permit for one year with a clean driving record for at least 6 months before applying for an intermediate license.
When applying, you will need to provide a driving log of 20 hours of supervised driving, with at least 2 of them occurring at night.
You will need to provide documents to prove the following information:
Driving exams are administered on an appointment basis. You will need to contact your local Iowa DMV to coordinate a driving test.
You will need to be asked to surrender your permit and pay an $8 fee.
With an intermediate license, you’ll be able to drive without adult supervision from 5 am to 12:30 am. You will also need to complete 10 hours of supervised driving.
Once you have completed these requirements, you can schedule an appointment with your local DMV to get your full driver’s license.
Your full drivers license is available once you have kept your intermediate license for 12 months and maintain a clean driving record during this time OR turn 18.
If you are applying for your first driver’s license and over the age of 18, you will be eligible to apply for an adult driver’s license directly. This license will be valid for 8 years and allow you to drive without restrictions.
To obtain your Iowa drivers license as a new driver, follow these steps.
You may visit your local Iowa DMV on a walk-in basis to apply for a license.
You will need to provide documents proving your:
Use Iowa’s interactive tool to help you determine what documents you can use to satisfy these document requirements.
You will need to pass the vision standards in order to gain your driver license in the state. The vision standard in Iowa is at least 20/40 vision in at least one eye.
The knowledge test covers important driving subjects pertaining specifically to the state. You will be tested on road signs, traffic laws, and other safe driving techniques to determine your understanding of these topics.
Studying for the exam can be difficult, Zutobi makes it easy. We have dozens of interactive modules to help you ace your exam with extreme confidence. Try Zutobi today online or on your mobile device.
The Iowa driving test will assess your skills behind the wheel. You will be asked to perform core driving maneuvers such as turning, changing lanes, keeping a safe following distance, and more.
At the time of writing, an Iowa driver’s license will cost you $4 per year, or $32 for 8 years.
That’s it! That’s all you need to know about getting a driver’s license in Iowa. The process involves quite a few steps, especially for minors, but is not entirely overwhelming if you know exactly what to do. Be sure to reference this guide often when applying for your license.