Renewing your Idaho Driver’s License does not have to be a hassle. In this guide, we’ll go over everything you need to know to make the process as simple as possible.
When Do You Need to Renew Your Idaho Driver’s License?
Your renewal date will depend on which of the 4 age groups you’re in.
- If you received a license before you turned 18, it will expire five days after your 18th birthday.
- If you are between 18 and 21, your license will expire five days after your 21st birthday.
- If you are between the ages of 21 and 62, you can choose a four or eight-year term that expires on your birthday. You may renew your license up to 25 months before the expiration date.
- Drivers 63 years and older must renew their license every four years. You will need to take a road test if:
- You have a mental or physical impairment that could affect your ability to drive safely.
- A family member, doctor, or law enforcement officer requests an Unsafe Driver Investigation.
License Grace Period
If your license is expired for 25 months or more, you will have to take the written and driving tests before you can renew your license.
How to Renew Your Idaho Driver’s License
You can renew a standard id in person, online, or by mail. You must renew a STAR-ID in person. Below is the process for each method.
Renewal By Mail
In general, you can only renew your Idaho driver’s license by mail if you are between 21 and 69 years old, and you must receive an invitation from the Idaho DMV to do so. License renewal by mail is only permitted once every eight years if you are eligible.
To renew by mail, follow these steps:
- Complete the application
- Send the application and a check for the $30 renewal fee + a $1 Administration fee to the address provided.
- You will receive a new license with your current picture and signature on it in about 14 days. You can track your application status here.
You can renew your Idaho driver’s license online if you satisfy the following requirements:
- You are renewing for 4 years
- Your most recent renewal was for 4 years or less
- You are between the ages of 21 and 69
- You are a US citizen or permanent resident
- You are renewing an Idaho class D driver’s license or ID card
- Your driving privilege is valid or has been expired for less than 25 months
- You are not adding or removing an endorsement or restriction
- You are not changing your name
It will cost $30 plus a service fee to renew your driver’s license online. You will not receive a temporary paper license with online renewal, so make sure to allow plenty of time for your new license to come in the mail. Typically, you will see your new license in 12-14 days.
Renewal in Person
Follow these steps to successfully renew your license in person.
- Make an appointment at your local Idaho DMV office location.
- Collect Your Approved Documents:
- Identity and Date of Birth
- Social Security Number
- Proof of Residency in Idaho
- If you are renewing or upgrading to a STAR card, use the Get the Star Tool to get a custom list of approved documents.
- If your current license expired over 25 months ago, be prepared to take the written and driving exams. Pass your exams on the first try with Zutobi’s Idaho practice tests and summarized manual.
- Pass a vision test with or without corrective lenses. If you need corrective lenses to pass the test, you will be required to wear them while driving.
- Pay your fees based on your age and any applicable tests. At the time of writing, these are the Idaho license renewal fees.
- 1-year License (age 17) $15.00
- 3-year License (under 18) $25.00
- 3-year License (age 18 to 21) $25.00
- 1-year License (age 20) $15.00
- 4-year License (age 21 and over) $30.00
- 8-year License (age 21 to 62) $55.00
- Knowledge Test $3.00
- Skills Test ($6.50 paid at County, $28.50 to Skills Test Examiner) $35.00
- Take a new picture
- Receive a temporary paper license. Your new license will come in the mail in 12 to 14 days.
Renewing your license in Idaho is a fairly straightforward process. Don’t forget to brush up on your knowledge in case you need to take any exams! It’s a common mistake to think that you remember all the information you studied years ago.
Want to keep updated on the latest laws and regulations for Idaho? Our driver’s program comes with a summarized driver’s manual, extra visual learning aids, and permit practice tests. Never be unprepared for road situations and tests again!
Frequently Asked Questions
What if You Drive With an Expired License?
Driving on an expired license is considered a misdemeanour, and it can incur heavy fines and jail time. Penalties for getting caught driving without a current and valid license are outlined in Legislation statute Section 409-301:
- First Offense: $150
- Second Conviction within five years: $300
- Third Conviction and every time thereafter in a five year period: a misdemeanor punishable by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding six (6) months or both.
What if Your License is Destroyed, Stolen, or Lost?
You will need to apply for a duplicate license and pay the appropriate printing fees. It will be delivered to the address printed on the original card.
What if You Just Moved to Idaho?
You must turn in your current out-of-state license within 90 days of becoming a resident and apply for a new card. If the out of state card is valid, and it is not suspended or revoked, you will be issued a new card for the appropriate fee. You will not need to take the written or road test to do so.