Idaho DMV Practice Test 2022

The Idaho DMV permit test consists of 40 questions, and you must answer at least 34 questions correctly to get a passing score (85%). The questions in our sample tests are nearly identical to those on the official ID exam.

Not your state?
What to expect on the official ID permit test
Number of questions:
40
Correct answers needed to pass:
34
Passing score:
85%
Minimum age to apply:
14 1/2years
Length of test:
25min
Minimum period between attempts:
3days
practice test
Questions

What will happen if you refuse a breath test when an officer suspects you of driving while intoxicated?

display
Your driver license will be suspended
BYou will face imprisonment for up to 5 years
CNothing - the officer cannot require you to submit a breath test

The implied consent law in Idaho says that by getting behind the wheel, you have already given consent (i.e. answered "yes") to allow a blood, breath, or urine test if requested by a law enforcement officer. Refusing a police breath/chemical test is a serious offense and will result in license suspension.

What is the BAC-limit for drivers that are 21 years old or older?

display
A0.02
B0.05
0.08

Operating a vehicle with a BAC of 0.08 or more is illegal in Idaho and counts as DUI. You can also be convicted if you are impaired by alcohol or drugs, even when your BAC is below the legal limit. The penalty for a first-time conviction is a fine of up to $1,000, up to 6 months in jail, and a license suspension for up to 150 days depending on your BAC.

What is the BAC-limit for drivers under 21 years old?

0.02
B0.05
C0.08

Drivers under 21 face stricter rules than older drivers in Idaho. They may be convicted of a DUI with a blood alcohol concentration of .02 or higher.

When driving at night, you must dim your lights to low-beam when you're within _____ of an oncoming vehicle.

display
500 feet
B700 feet
C1000 feet

High beam headlights will temporarily blind other drivers if used the wrong way. In Idaho, you are required to dim your light to low beam if (1) within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle or (2) within 200 feet of a vehicle traveling in your direction.

You're driving at night and approaching another vehicle traveling in your direction. When must you dim your lights?

Within 200 feet of the vehicle
BWithin 300 feet of the vehicle
CWithin 400 feet of the vehicle

High beam headlights will temporarily blind other drivers if used the wrong way. In Idaho, you are required to dim your light to low beam if (1) within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle or (2) within 200 feet of a vehicle traveling in your direction.

You are required to use your headlights in certain conditions. Which of the following is an example of such a condition?

Between sunset and sunrise
BWhen visibility is less than 1500 ft
COn a clear day in a business district

In Idaho, you must use your headlights between (1) sunset and sunrise or (2) when visibility is less than 500 feet. Also, you're required to dim your lights to low beam when (1) within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle and (2) within 200 feet of a vehicle traveling in your direction.

Is the use of Hazard Lights permitted while driving?

display
AYes
No

Hazard light use is not permitted while driving in Idaho except to indicate to others the presence of a traffic hazard on the road that requires care in passing, approaching, or overtaking.

You see that there is a stopped emergency vehicle on the road shoulder ahead,. What should you do?

ACome to a complete stop at least 50 feet from the emergency vehicle
Vacate the lane closest to the emergency vehicle
CTry to pass the emergency vehicle as quickly as possible

The Idaho move-over-law is designed to protect emergency personnel and workers. If approaching a stationary emergency vehicle with flashing lights, including municipal vehicles, tow trucks, wreckers, and other recovery vehicles, you must slow down and vacate the lane closest to the stopped vehicle. If changing lanes is unsafe or not possible, you must slow down to a safe and prudent speed for the conditions.

What is considered a sufficient following distance on a dry road?

A2 seconds or less
At least 3 seconds
CAt least 4 Seconds

You should always maintain a following distance of at least 3 seconds to the vehicle in front of you according to the "three-second rule" that is used in Idaho. In bad conditions and at higher speeds, you should consider increasing the following distance to 4-5 seconds so you have time to safely stop if necessary. On slippery roads, it may be necessary to increase the following distance even more.

What is the standard speed limit in residential, business or urban districts?

A15 mph
35 mph
C45 mph

In Idaho, the standard speed limit in residential business or urban districts is 35 mph unless signs indicate otherwise.

When may you turn right on a red light?

AAt all times
Unless signs prohibit
COnly if signs permit

If the turn can be made safely, you may turn right on a red light in Idaho after coming to a complete stop and yielding to any pedestrians/vehicles lawfully proceeding through the intersection. Look for signs that prohibit the turn.

In which order should the cars proceed?

display
B,C,A
BB,A,C
CA,B,C

Car A must yield the right-of-way as it is turning across the path of B and C. As neither B or C is signaling to turn, we can assume that they will both travel straight ahead.

Which statement is true?

display
Many drivers forget to signal when changing lanes
BExpect all drivers to check the blind spot before changing lanes
CYou can always trust that other road users will respect the ‘right-of-way’ rules

It’s not unusual for drivers to forget to signal (even though it is absolutely necessary!) or signal too late when changing lanes. 

Try to determine in advance which vehicles may need to change lanes. For example, if another vehicle has just passed you using the left lane on the highway, you can expect that the vehicle will merge into your lane.

How can you reduce the risk of your vehicle being broken into at night?

display
Park in a well-lit area
BPark in a quiet side road
CPark in a poorly-lit area

Avoid leaving your car unattended in poorly-lit areas, as the risk of having your car being broken into is much higher.

Signs with black lettering on a white background are:

display
Regulatory signs
BWarning signs
CGuide signs
DYIELD signs

Regulatory signs have black lettering on a white background.

Use hand-signals:

display
AAt sunrise and sunset
If your vehicle’s signals stop working
CNever, unless your vehicle is so old that it doesn’t have turn signals

You must, in all situations, warn other drivers of your intentions. Use hand signals if your vehicle’s signals stop working or if it’s difficult to see your turn signal

Microsleep is:

display
AA quick nap
Short unintended loss of consciousness
CSleeping for less than 5 hours

Driving while tired can cause microsleeps. A 1-second microsleep at 60 mph means that you will travel almost 30 yards without controlling your vehicle! Make sure to stop and rest if you feel tired.

You should leave your manual transmission car in which gear when parking facing downhill

display
Reverse
B1st gear
CNeutral gear

When parked facing downhill, turn your wheels toward the curb, pull the parking brake, and shift the car into ‘reverse’. By doing so, you will minimize the risk of your vehicle rolling if the parking brake fails. This is because your transmission is set in the opposite direction, and will act as a brake.

What will happen if you refuse a breath test when an officer suspects you of driving while intoxicated?

Your driver license will be suspended
Your driver license will be immediately revoked
You will face imprisonment for a minimum period of 2 years
Nothing - the officer cannot require you to submit a breath test

You can reduce your fuel usage by:

display
Regularly having your vehicle serviced
BRevving the engine in a low gear, as you’ll warm it up
CDriving at high speeds whenever possible

Unless your vehicle is serviced regularly, the engine will gradually become less efficient and use more fuel.

Is Passing the Idaho Permit Test Hard?

It can be if you don’t study effectively. In fact, over half of would-be drivers don’t pass the written test the first time.

To make sure you pass, trust Zutobi’s comprehensive platform and innovative format. We’ve laid it all out for you in a clear, concise way. Sign up for Zutobi and don’t just pass—ace your permit test in Idaho.

Ace Your Idaho Permit Test On The First Try

Zutobi’s innovative, informative, and best of all, exciting course, allows you to:

  • Learn with our improved and summarized version of the entire Idaho driver’s manual.
  • Get over any fear of driving by getting comfortable as Zutobi teaches you all the Idaho traffic laws, road signs, and other information you need to know.
  • Watch your confidence soar as you tell your dad how to parallel park.
  • Compete with friends as you earn points, badges, and achievements - all while studying for your learner’s permit.
  • Take all the practice tests you want on your way to being completely prepared for your Idaho driver training permit. If you miss a question, you’ll see the correct answer in real time with a detailed explanation.
  • Join the thousands of Zutobi users to pass your permit test on the first try (95% do) and become a safe Idaho teen driver!

Take Our Free Practice Test For Idaho Now

Our permit practice test will show you what the real test is like. If you find that you aren’t as prepared as you thought, we made a whole course just for you.

Ace your DMV test, guaranteed