Kentucky Driver’s Permit: Requirements and Restrictions

Kentucky Driver’s Permit: Requirements and Restrictions

by Zutobi · Updated Mar 17, 2021

Are you looking to get your Kentucky permit? If so, you’ve come to the right place. The process may seem complicated, but it doesn’t have to be. In this article, we’ll go through all the details so you know exactly what to expect.

Applying for Your Kentucky Permit

You will need to present the following documents:

  • Your Social Security Card
  • Birth Certificate
  • If you are Under 18, your parent or legal guardian must sign your application
  • If you are Under 18, you must be in compliance with No Pass/No Drive (see above).

Once you meet these requirements, a Kentucky State Police examiner will give you a vision screening to ensure you see well enough to drive. If your vision is satisfactory, you’ll be allowed to take the knowledge test.

Completing the Knowledge Test

The knowledge test covers everything in your Kentucky Driver Manual, from state driving laws to safe driving practices. There will be 40 questions, and you have to answer 32 correctly to pass.

If you pass your knowledge test, you will be issued a driver’s permit that you must keep on you when you drive. If you fail, you can try again as early as the next available test day for your location.

We strongly recommend that you use a proven resource like Zutobi to help you pass your exam on the first try! Our summarized Kentucky Driver’s Manual, practice tests, and learning system is the new way to get your license!

How to Proceed to an Intermediate Driver’s License

You will need to hold your driver’s permit without major violations on your record to move to an Intermediate Driver’s License. 

  • If you are 21 or older, you will need to hold your permit for 30 days before you can take the road test for your unrestricted driver’s license. 
  • If you are under 21, you must hold your permit for 180 days without a major violation on your record. The 180-day countdown starts over from the date of any major violations.
  • Drivers under 18 are also required to follow additional requirements outlined in the Graduated Driver’s License Program, which we outline further down.

Kentucky Permit Restrictions

If you are under 18, you must complete 60 hours of driving training, 10 of which must be at night. They also must be certified by your parents or guardian on this Kentucky Driving Log.

In addition, all Kentucky permit drivers are under the following restrictions:

  • You may not drive between the hours of midnight and 6am, except in an emergency.
  • While you have a permit, you can only drive with someone 21 or older in the front seat with you. 
  • You can drive with no more than one non-family member under the age of 20.
  • Driving with any amount of alcohol or drugs in your system is prohibited.
  • If you accumulate more than 6 points on your record, your driving privileges will be suspended.
  • If you have a serious moving violation on your record, you will have to wait 180 days from the last violation before you can move to the next phase.

Permit Renewals

Your learner’s permit is good for three years and may be renewed. If it is not renewed within a year of its expiration date, the tests will need to be taken over again.

That’s It!

That’s everything you need to know about getting your driver’s permit in the state of Kentucky. If you need any help studying for your upcoming knowledge or driving exams, then Zutobi is the perfect study resource with a summarized handbook, Kentucky practice tests, and a gamified learning experience.

Take our full course with tests and theory

550+ exam-like questions

All you need to ace your test

Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens

cloud
town