Mississippi Driver's License

How to Get a Mississippi Driver’s License: A Complete Guide

Zutobi
by Zutobi · Updated Jul 01, 2021

It’s a rite of passage for nearly everyone who lives in the United States: getting a driver’s license. For most young people, it’s another step toward independence, freedom, and adulthood. Like in most states, getting a Mississippi driver’s license involves several steps including written and behind-the-wheel tests, a vision screening, and education and experience.

Learner’s Permit (For Teenage Beginners)

Depending on your age, obtaining a learner’s permit will be a little different.

  • Teenagers as young as 14 can obtain a learner’s permit if enrolled in a driver’s education program through their high school. This permit can only be used to drive with a driving instructor.
  • Teens 15 or older can obtain a temporary learners permit. This permit is used to practice driving under the supervision of a licensed driver at least 21 years old.
  • For persons 17 or older, you can skip permit stage and go straight to a full Mississippi driver’s license. We’ll go through this in detail later in this guide.

All drivers must complete a written knowledge exam, as well as a vision exam to test your visual acuity.

If you would like to know more about this part of the licensing process, we recommend that you read our in-depth Mississippi learner’s permit guide.

Intermediate Driver’s License

Once you’ve held your permit for at least 12 months, you can apply for an intermediate Mississippi driver’s license. This license allows you to drive unsupervised between the hours of 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. Sunday through Thursday and 6 a.m. to 11:30 p.m. during the weekends. No restrictions are enforced if you are driving to or from work.

How to Get an Intermediate Driver’s License in Mississippi

In order to obtain this intermediate license, you’ll need to visit the Mississippi licensing bureau with an application that is signed by your parents and notarized. Bring social security card, birth certification, proof of school attendance, and two proofs of residency.

This time, instead of taking a computerized and vision test, you’ll need to pass a road skills test with a legally road-worthy vehicle. If you fail the behind-the-wheel test, you’ll need to wait one week before trying again.

Once you receive your intermediate license, you’ll need to hold it for six months, turn 16 ½ years old, and pay a final license fee with a third visit to the licensing bureau before you can exchange it for a regular Mississippi driver’s license.

Full Mississippi Driver’s License (New Drivers)

Once you turn 17, you have the privilege of skipping the learners permit and intermediate license to obtain a full driver’s license. You can complete all the required steps in one single visit to the licensing bureau.

After completing the application form, you’ll bring your social security card, birth certificate, and two proofs of residency to the licensing bureau. If you’re still in high school, you’ll need verification of school attendance as well. You can choose to apply for a four- or eight-year license with associated fees.

Then, you’ll need to pass all three of your driver’s license tests: computerized laws and signs test, vision test, and road skills test. If you successfully pass all of these tests, you will receive your Mississippi driver’s license in the mail in about one week.

That’s It!

That’s everything you need to know about getting your driver’s license in Mississippi. We hope this guide has helped you out and that you now feel comfortable with the steps moving forward. If you need any help studying for your upcoming knowledge or driving exams, then Zutobi is the perfect study resource with a summarized handbook, Mississippi permit practice tests, and a gamified experience. 

Take our full course with tests and theory

550+ exam-like questions

All you need to ace your test

Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens

cloud
town