drivers license

Mississippi Driver’s License Renewal Guide

Zutobi
by Zutobi · Updated Apr 30, 2021

Is it time for your Mississippi driver’s license renewal? Find the most accurate and up-to-date information right here to avoid any hassle at the driver’s license office. 

In this guide, we go over everything you need to know to successfully renew your license.

How Often Must You Renew a Mississippi Driver’s License?

Unless you have special restrictions on your license, your license will need to be renewed every four or eight years. REAL-ID’s are always eight years. 

In Mississippi, a driver’s license can be renewed either six months before or up to a year after the expiration date listed on your card. However, if you renew after it expires, you must pay an additional fee.

What is the Grace Period for an Expired Driver’s License?

Mississippi does not have a grace period for expired licenses. If you are caught driving without a valid license, you will be charged with a misdemeanor. The courts can fine you for $200 to $500, and you could face up to six months in jail.

How to Renew a Mississippi Driver’s License

The state of Mississippi allows drivers to renew their licenses a few different ways: online, at a kiosk, or in person. We will go through each of the different alternatives and requirements below. 

Military personnel stationed out of state may also be allowed to renew their licenses by mail. 

Online Renewal 

You can renew your license online if you renewed your last driver’s license in-person, all your information is up to date, and you are NOT upgrading to a REAL-ID. You MUST have a physical address to mail your license to. The Mississippi DPS will not mail your driver’s license to a PO box. 

How to renew your license online:

  1. Visit the Mississippi DPS
  2. Give your name, DoB, and license number
  3. Verify all your information is correct
  4. Pay the fee with a credit or debit card. There will also be a processing fee and a $1.50 shipping and handling fee when renewing online.
  5. You will receive your paper receipt within 78 hours, and your physical license will come in the mail within a few weeks. 

You can check the status anytime by contacting the Mississippi Department of Public Safety at (601) 987-1212 or (601) 987-1224.

You may also email drivesafe@dps.ms.gov.

Kiosk Renewal 

You may qualify to renew at a self-service kiosk if you satisfy the following requirements:

  • You are between the ages of 17 and 75
  • Your license is still valid or expired for less than one year
  • You do not need to change your information
  • You have no unpaid tickets on file
  • You are a US citizen
  • You can pay by debit/credit card

If everything checks out, you will need to find a driver’s license service location with a self-service kiosk and follow these steps:

  1. Swipe your driver’s license
  2. Verify all the information is correct
  3. Take a new photo
  4. Receive a paper receipt that will act as your temporary license. Your license will be mailed to the residential address on file.

You can check the status anytime by contacting the Mississippi Department of Public Safety at (601) 987-1212 or (601) 987-1224. You may also email drivesafe@dps.ms.gov.

Renewal in Person

You must renew your Mississippi driver’s license in person if any of the following apply: 

  • You renewed online last time
  • You need to make any changes to your card information, such as name or address.
  • You are upgrading to a REAL-ID
  • You are not a US citizen

You’ll need to visit a Driver’s License location to renew your license and follow these steps. If available, you may be able to use their self-service kiosks as well.

  1. Make an appointment or check hours and availability. 
  2. Gather your documents. You should bring 
    1. Your current license
    2. Proof of identity, if you are not a US citizen.
    3. Proof of residency
    4. Fee Payment Method. DPS offices accept cash, credit, and debit cards. They do not accept personal checks.
  3. Fill out the application and present your documents.
  4. Pass a vision test
  5. Pay the required fees (see below)
  6. Receive a temporary paper license. You will receive your license at your residential address on file in about a week.

You can check the status anytime by contacting the Mississippi Department of Public Safety at (601) 987-1212 or (601) 987-1224. You may also email drivesafe@dps.ms.gov.

Mississippi Driver’s License Renewal Fees

The cost of your license varies. At the time of writing, these are the most common drivers license renewal fees in Mississippi. 

  • $24 for 4 years
  • $47 for 8 years
  • +$1 if the license is expired.
  • +$1.50 shipping and handling costs.
  • A convenience fee when you use a credit or debit card.

However, note that these fees may be subject to change. You can find the full list of fees based on restrictions, endorsements, motorcycle permits, and more on the DPS website

Do I Need a REAL-ID?

Starting Oct 1, 2021, a standard driver’s license will not qualify as your federal id. If you plan to board a plane or enter a US military base (or various other government facilities), you will need a federally approved ID to do so.

New Mississippi drivers are automatically enrolled into the REAL-ID program. License holders with a standard ID can choose whether or not to upgrade. However, their standard license will not qualify as a federal id.

That’s It

That’s everything you need to know about renewing your driver’s license in Mississippi, make sure to do so well before your license expires to avoid unnecessary complications. If you need help studying for renewal exams, then Zutobi is the perfect study resource with state-of-the-art refresher exams.

Take our full course with tests and theory

550+ exam-like questions

All you need to ace your test

Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens

cloud
town