Is it time for your West Virginia driver’s license renewal? No need to worry, in this guide we will go through everything you need to know in order to complete the process hassle-free.
West Virginia has implemented the “Drive for Five” program. This means that after age 18, your license needs to be renewed in the same years that your age is divisible by five. (Age 20, 25, 30, 35, and onward).
If this is your first renewal, the person who issued your license gave you an expiration ranging between three and seven years to phase you into the program. This number was based on your age when you applied for your license. Check the upper right of your card for the date.
There is no grace period for driving with an expired license in West Virginia. If you are caught driving without a valid license, the first offense is a misdemeanor with a fine of up to $500. In case of a second violation, there will be more fines and possible jail time. The penalties get worse if your license is suspended or you are hit with a DUI.
If your license has expired for more than six months, you will need to retake the written and behind-the-wheel exams to qualify for renewal. You will also need to bring in documentation as if you were applying for the first time. Zutobi can help you pass these exams on the first try with our learning program.
Yes. The West Virginia DMV may refuse to renew your license if:
The state offers a variety of ways to renew your license.
If you need to make any changes to your license, you will have to renew in person.
Renewing online is one of the easiest ways to renew your license. By using the WV DMV’s ‘Skip the Trip!’ tool, you can use this option if you satisfy the following requirements:
If you satisfy the requirements, then the first thing you need to do is to make sure none of your information has changed since the last time you renewed. If any of it has, you will have to renew in person.
Here’s how you complete the process:
If you receive an individual reminder notice from the WV DMV, it will state if you qualify to renew by mail. You will need to send in photocopies of the required documents and the appropriate fees to the DMV address provided.
In-person license renewal is mandatory if:
If you want to renew in person, here are the steps you need to follow:
Kiosks are set up in Kroger and Sheetz locations across the state, and most of them are available 24/7. You will need to meet the following requirements to be eligible to renew at a kiosk:
Did you meet all of the requirements? Good. Here’s what to do next.
The base renewal cost is $5 per year that the license is valid, plus 50 cents in fees. So if your license is good for five years, the total base cost will be $25.50 ($5 x 5 years + 50 cents).
If your license is expired, you will pay an additional $5 late fee. If your license has expired for six or more months, you will need to take the written and driving tests again. If this applies to you, expect an additional $7.50 per test attempt.
There is an additional $10 fee if you want your license to be accepted as a federal ID, also known as the REAL-ID.
Available payment methods vary by location. Also, these fees are subject to change so make sure to check the latest fees at the West Virginia DMV website.
Starting May 3, 2023, a standard driver’s license will not qualify as your federal ID. The date used to be Oct 1, 2021, however, DHS announced another extension on April 27, 2021. A REAL-ID is labeled “Accepted as Federal Identification.”
This means you will need a passport, a REAL-ID, or another form of federal identification to:
If you need access to any of the above, a REAL-ID is the way to go.
That’s everything you need to know about renewing your driver’s license in West Virginia, make sure to do so well before your license expires to avoid unnecessary complications. If you need help studying for renewal exams, then Zutobi is the perfect study resource with state-of-the-art refresher exams.
550+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Could you ace your DMV test?