West Virginia DMV Permit Practice Test 2022

The West Virginia DMV permit test consists of 25 questions, and you must answer at least 19 questions correctly to get a passing score (75%). The questions in our sample tests are nearly identical to those on the official WV exam.

Not your state?
What to expect on the official WV permit test
Number of questions:
25
Correct answers needed to pass:
19
Passing score:
76%
Minimum age to apply:
15years
Length of test:
18min
Minimum period between attempts:
7days
practice test
Questions

What does a red ‘ X’ mean when it is placed over a reversible lane?

AThe lane is open
The lane is closed

A red ‘X’ means that the lane is closed for traffic and that you should change lanes immediately. These lights are used over reversible lanes in West Virginia to help drivers determine which lanes are open or closed, and are often accompanied by double-dashed yellow lines. Reversible lanes are designed to help with rush hour traffic by carrying inbound traffic during the morning peak hours and outbound traffic during evening peak hours.

What is the penalty for leaving the scene of a crash resulting in serious injury?

License revocation, fines & imprisonment
BVehicle impoundment, fines & imprisonment
CLicense suspension for 3 months, fines & imprisonment

Drivers convicted of leaving a crash scene resulting in injury will have their license revoked for 1 year, receive a fine of no more than $1,000, and face confinement in a West Virginia county or regional jail for up to 1 year.

Which of the following has a point value of 6?

AFailure to obey stop sign
BImproper turning
Speeding by 20 mph or more over the limit

Failure to obey stop sign is a 3-point violation. Improper turning is a 2-point violation. Speeding by 20 mph or more is a 6-point violation. Accumulating 12 or more points will lead to a license suspension under the West Virginia Point System.

What do flashing yellow or amber lights on a school bus mean?

The bus is about to stop
BThe bus driver is signaling for you to pass
CThere is a hazard on the road ahead

Flashing amber lights are used by newer school buses in West Virginia to indicate that they are slowing down and preparing to stop. Motorists should slow down and prepare to stop when they see these lights. In West Virginia, the amber lights must be activated 200 feet before the bus will stop depending on the speed limit.

When is passing on the right permitted?

When the vehicle in front of you is making a left turn
BAt all times
CWhen the vehicle in front of you is driving slower than the speed limit

In West Virginia, passing on the right is only permissible: When the vehicle in front of you is preparing for or making a left turn On a street, highway or one-way street with unobstructed pavement of sufficient width for two or more lanes for travel in the same direction Drivers must not drive off the pavement or main traveled portion of the road when passing on the right. Passing on the right can be especially dangerous as the other driver may not expect or see you and decide to change lanes or turn.

Which passengers have to wear a seat belt?

The driver and all front-seat passengers 18 and older
BFront-seat passengers only
CBack-seat passengers only

In West Virginia, the driver and all front-seat passengers age 18 and older must wear a seat belt. Violation of the seat belt law is a standard offense. In addition, the child passenger safety law also requires that all children wear an appropriate child restraint. What is appropriate depends on the size, height and weight of the child. For children ages 8-18, the appropriate restraint is a seat belt.

Are headsets or earplugs prohibited while driving?

AYes
No

In West Virginia, there is no prohibition on wearing headsets while driving. However, you should be very careful about covering your ears entirely as you will miss the visual queues otherwise present in the road environment.

Are you required to yield to pedestrians in marked or unmarked crosswalks?

Yes
BNo

Pedestrians have the right-of-way when using a crosswalk in West Virginia, which means you must stop and yield to pedestrians in both marked and unmarked crosswalks. When approaching a crosswalk, use caution and watch both sides of the street for pedestrians.

What should you do before driving in snowy conditions?

Remove snow and ice from windows, lights, and mirrors
BLet the engine warm up for at least 40 minutes
CCheck your tire tread depth

Removing snow and ice will not only make it easier for you to see the road ahead. It will also make it easier for other road users to see you. While it can be beneficial to let your engine warm up before driving, it's unnecessary to let it warm up for 40 minutes. Checking your tire tread depth is important, but it is something you should do when driving in all weather conditions and not just snowy conditions.

What is the speed limit in school zones?

15 mph
B20 mph
C25 mph

School zone speed limits are in effect while children are present along the school roadway and when otherwise posted. Look for signs that indicate otherwise, such as flashing lights. In West Virginia, a school zone includes all school property, and any street abutting the school grounds. It extends 125 feet along a highway/street from the school grounds. Be extremely careful close to schools as children are unpredictable and may cross the road without warning.

When are studded tires permitted?

AAt all times
Between November 1 and April 15
COnly when it's snowing

Studded tires have studs embedded in the tread that provide added traction. They are permitted in West Virginia between November 1 to April 15.

Does your trailer need to be equipped with independent braking?

AYes, if the gross weight exceeds 3,000 lbs
Yes, if the gross weight exceeds 5,000 lbs
CNo

The added weight of the trailer to your vehicle can drastically increase the distance needed to come to a full stop. For this reason, most states have laws regarding independent braking on trailers over a certain gross vehicle weight (GVW). In West Virginia, the gross weight limit for any trailer or semitrailer operated on a highway is 3,000 lbs.

What does the child restraint law mean for children of different ages?

Children must be properly seated in a restraint appropriate for their age, size and weight
BAll children should be seated in the same way
CChildren should be seated in the front seat

The child restraint law requires that children be seated in appropriate restraint systems for their size, weight and height. Child restraint laws are standard enforcement. In West Virginia: Children 8 until 18 years old, or a child at least 4 feet 9 inches, must wear a seat belt. Children under 8 years old and less than 4 feet 9 inches must be secured in a child passenger safety device. Remember that it's often safer for children to ride in the back seat than the front seat. Never place a rear-facing child safety seat in a seat that has an active airbag.

You see that there is a stopped emergency vehicle on the road shoulder ahead,. What should you do?

ACome to a complete stop at least 50 feet from the emergency vehicle
Vacate the lane closest to the emergency vehicle
CTry to pass the emergency vehicle as quickly as possible

The move-over-law in West Virginia is designed to protect emergency personnel and workers. If approaching a stationary emergency vehicle with flashing lights, including tow trucks, you must vacate the lane closest to the stopped vehicle. If changing lanes is unsafe or not possible, you must slow down to no more than 15 mph on a non-divided highway or 25 mph on a divided highway.

What is the standard speed limit in a business or residential area?

A15 mph
25 mph
C35 mph

The standard speed limit in a business or residential area in West Virginia is 25 mph unless otherwise posted.

How far away from a school bus loading or unloading passengers do vehicles have to stop?

display
Before reaching the school bus
B10 feet
C15 feet
D20 feet

Vehicles from both directions have to stop for school buses loading or unloading passengers on all roads, including private roads, driveways and parking lots. School buses in West Virginia use flashing red lights to indicate that the bus is stopped to load or unload school children. Do not proceed until the school bus has started driving again, the lights have stopped flashing and the stop arm has been retracted, or the bus driver signals for you to proceed. A stop is not required when driving on the opposite side of a interstate highway divided by a median.

How many points are needed for a license suspension?

A4
B8
12

West Virginia uses a Point System to identify and keep unsafe drivers off the roads. Convictions remain on a driver's record for 2 years. Accumulating 12 or more points within any 2-year period will cause your driver's license to be suspended.

Why do some pedestrians carry a white cane?

display
They are totally or partially blind
BThey are deaf
CThey use it to lean on when walking

A white cane is carried by pedestrians that are either totally or partially blind. They may not be aware of your presence and must be given total priority even when the right-of-way rules aren’t in their favor.

You make a wrong turn and end up on a one-way street. You should:

display
APut your gear in reverse and back up the way you came
BMake a U-turn and go back
Continue driving and find another route

Never turn your vehicle around or back up on a one-way street.

What can you do to avoid harsh braking?

display
Take early action
BSlow down by engine braking
CPump the brake pedal

You should look 10-12 seconds ahead. Looking well ahead lets you take early action and avoid harsh braking. 

Is Passing the West Virginia Permit Test Hard?

It is if you don’t study hard enough or don’t study effectively. Across the country, around half of the teens who take their learner’s permit test don’t pass the first time they take it.

With Zutobi, you not only get the best study materials, but you also get effective methods proven to help you onboard and retain everything you’ll need to ace the West Virginia permit test.

Ace Your West Virginia Permit Test With Zutobi

Zutobi’s innovative and engaging course allows you to:

  • Access our summarized and engaging West Virginia driver’s handbook.
  • Learn and retain everything through pictures and illustrations to understand traffic rules, road signs, and all other must-know information.
  • Have hundreds of questions based on real West Virginia learner’s permit tests from the past at your fingertips.
  • Apply all that you’ve learned on our West Virginia practice tests, which are designed to simulate the real thing.
  • Get immediate feedback and detailed explanations on all of the multiple-choice questions so you can remember the correct answer.
  • Prove your knowledge using the course by earning points, achievements, and badges - and compare your score to others on our gamified platform.
  • Be the family authority on safe driving as you gain confidence in your ability to pass the written test.
  • Save time and money as you join the 95% of Zutobi customers to pass their learner’s permit test on the first try.
  • Use our app or website to study anytime, anywhere, and on any device.

Take A Free 2022 West Virginia DMV Practice Test Now

If you happen to answer a question incorrectly, you’ll be able to see the correct answer along with an explanation in real-time. If you think you could use a little more help before taking the written test, try our course today.

Ace your DMV test, guaranteed