Getting an Arizona driver’s license can be an exciting time for both teenagers and young adults. Like many states, the state of Arizona follows a Graduated Drivers License program. The GDL program guides younger drivers through the process of learning how to drive by gradually increasing their privileges after each step.
In this blog, you’ll learn exactly how to get your driver’s license in Arizona, whether you’re a teen or an adult.
At 15 ½ years old, you will be eligible for your Arizona learner permit. With your permit, you will be allowed to practice driving with an adult 21 years or older who holds a valid license.
If you’re over the age of 18, you can skip this step and start with a full license.
You’ll need to visit your local Arizona MVD in order to apply for your permit. If you’re under 18, your parent or legal guardian will need to be with you and provide their consent. You will need to fill out Form 40-5122 when you make it to the MVD.
You must provide two examples of primary documentation. This includes, but is not limited to, your birth certificate, passport, or military ID. These documents must prove your identity, date of birth, residential address in Arizona, and legal presence or citizenship.
Your vision will be tested to ensure your eyesight won’t cause you any trouble on the road. You must exhibit a vision score of 20/40 or better in at least one eye.
The Arizona MVD will test you on road signs and traffic laws throughout the state. There are 30 questions on the knowledge exam. You must answer 24 correctly for a score of 80% in order to pass.
The test can be difficult, but there’s no reason you need to fail. Luckily, Zutobi has you covered! With dozens of interactive modules, a summarized handbook, and Arizona permit practice tests – Zutobi has all the tools to help you ace your test while having a bit of fun at the same time.
There are certain permit restrictions during the first six months.
If you want to learn more, you should check out our in-depth guide here.
The Graduated Driver License is the next step to the GDL program. You will be offered a few more privileges, but will still need to drive supervised most of the time in order to legally operate.
You will need to meet the following requirements to be able to move on to this stage in the licensing process.
You will need to visit your local Arizona MVD with a parent or legal guardian in order to apply. An appointment will need to be made in order to schedule a road test.
Form 40-5122 will need to be filled out and handed to the MVD agent. You can fill it out online and print it, or simply pick up a form at the office. Your parent or legal guardian, however, will need to sign the document in the presence of an MVD agent in order for it to be validated.
You’ll need to provide two forms of primary documentation. They will need to provide the following:
The Arizona road test is required to test your driving ability in a variety of situations. You will be required to demonstrate your ability to park, perform three-point turns, maintain proper following distance, and more. You’ll be observed and graded on specific actions, as well as your general ability to safely operate a motor vehicle.
In Arizona, the graduated driver’s license fee is $25. It will be assessed at the time of application. You can pay this fee with cash, check, credit or debit card, or money order.
For the first 6 months, you may not drive between midnight and 5 am, unless you are driving with a parent, or driving to or from work, school, church, or because of an emergency. You may not drive with more than one passenger over 18 without a parent or guardian unless it is your sibling.
You can apply for a full Arizona driver’s license at 18, whether or not you went through the GDL program. If you have completed the GDL, you will be able to bypass any tests and get your license.
If you’re a new driver and you haven’t gone through the GDL, you will need to pass the written test and the road test before being issued a license. When you go to the Arizona MVD, you will need to provide form 40-5122 and proper documentation upon application.
Are you worried about your test? The test can be difficult, but there’s no reason you need to fail. We’ll help you pass with dozens of interactive modules, a summarized handbook, and Arizona permit practice tests.
You will be assessed a licensing fee depending on how old you are at the age of your application. The Arizona MVD takes cash, check, credit card, or money order.
Ages 16-39: $25
Ages 40-44: $20
Ages 45-49: $15
Ages 50+: $10
That’s all you need to know about getting your driver’s license in Arizona. With all these steps, you’ll want to make sure you follow these instructions precisely in order to avoid any complications at the MVD.
550+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Ace your DMV test, guaranteed