Receiving a driver’s permit is an exciting time for teenagers and young adults, as it is the first step towards getting a driver’s license and freely driving through the state. However, there are a few steps you must take before achieving this.
In this guide, we’ll cover everything you need to know to get your Arizona driver’s permit.
There aren’t many requirements for getting a learner’s permit in Arizona. You need to be at least 15 years and 6 months old at the time of application. Your permit will be valid for 12 months from the date it is issued.
You will have the opportunity to renew it without taking any additional tests as long as you do so before it expires.
The Arizona MVD is where you’ll start the process of applying for your learner’s permit. You can walk-in or schedule an appointment online. A parent or legal guardian will need to accompany you if you are under the age of 18.
You will need to present certain documentation at the Arizona MVD. For your permit application, you will need to bring the following:
You will be required to take a simple vision screening at the time of your permit application. To pass the exam, you’ll need to exhibit 20/40 vision or better in at least one eye.
The written exam is one of the most important aspects of the learner’s permit application process. The test consists of 30 questions and you must answer 24 correctly in order to pass. It covers road signs and traffic laws around the state of Arizona.
Rather than spending hours studying a handbook, we have a gamified system that allows you to learn while having tons of fun as well as online practice tests and a summarized Arizona driver’s manual. Join over 250,000 students using Zutobi each month to ace their exams.
After completing the above task, you will be prompted to pay a $7 learner’s permit fee. The Motor Vehicle Department accepts credit cards, debit cards, cash, check, and money order.
When you obtain your permit, you will be able to drive legally in the state of Arizona. However, there are certain restrictions you need to abide by for the first six months.
Be sure you follow these restrictions in order to avoid falling into trouble with local law enforcement.
You will need to hold your driver’s permit for at least six months and complete supervised driving. You’ll also need to either log 30 hours of driving in addition to 10 hours at night OR complete an Arizona MVD-approved driver education program.
That’s all there is towards getting your driver’s permit in Arizona. Be sure to reference this guide throughout the process to ensure a hassle-free experience.
550+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Ace your DMV test, guaranteed