If you violate one of Florida’s many traffic laws, you can expect to be met with a uniform traffic citation. There are two types of traffic violations in Florida – moving and nonmoving. Moving violations occur when the vehicle is in motion, such as speeding or distracted driving. Nonmoving violations include illegal parking and expired plates.
If you receive a Uniform Traffic Citation in Florida, no need to worry! We will discuss everything you need to know.
Traffic citations will cost you monetarily, but will also result in points added to your license. The extent to which you face consequences depends on the severity and nature of your offence.
Moving violations, such as speeding tickets, are some of the more common traffic violations in the state of Florida. They are quite expensive as well.
Below is what you can expect to pay for a speeding ticket in the state of Florida, depending on how fast you were going at the time you were cited.
1-5 mph = Usually given a warning, fines up to $100
6-9 mph = $100 – $150 w/ three points added
10-14 mph = $190 – $230 w/ three points added
15+ mph = $240 – $380 w/ four points added
You have three options when dealing with a UTC in Florida. You have 30 days to handle your ticket with the county court clerk’s office where you received your ticket.
Option 1: Pay the Fine
As we discussed above, Uniform Traffic Citations can be an expensive affair. However, paying them is often the simplest course of action for most drivers. When paying the fine, you may also be required to provide proof of compliance to the clerk.
Drivers will also be required to complete a driver improvement course in addition to paying fines if convicted of violation such as running red lights, reckless driving, racing, or illegally passing a school bus.
Option 2: Dispute the Ticket
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles also allows drivers to contest citations with the Clerk of Court. You will need to visit the Clerk of Court in the county where you received your ticket. You will need to find and contact this county and request a hearing.
Option 3: Take a Driver Improvement Course
You may be eligible for an 18% reduction in fines and reduced points if you elect to take a driver improvement course. You will only be able to utilize this option five times in your lifetime, so it is important to choose wisely. There are a number of approved Driver Improvement Courses in the state of Florida.
To take a driver improvement course, you must contact the Clerk of Court within 30 days of your issued citation informing them you would like to take a Basic Driver Improvement Course. You will then be prompted to pay your citation fines (reduced by 18%) in addition to miscellaneous court costs specific to the county. After completing the course, you will need to submit your certificate of completion with the Clerk of Court where you paid the fine.
If you decide to pay your UTC outright or you were successful in disputing your ticket, you may pay your fine online or in person at the Clerk of Court.
Paying your traffic citation online is one of the most convenient ways to handle your ticket quickly and easily. All you need is the county your citation was issued, your citation number, license number, and birth date. These pieces of information are available on your physical citation as well as your driver’s license.
To pay your ticket in person, you will need to visit the Clerk of Court in the county where the violation occurred. Once you present your citation, the clerk will take you through the process of completing payment.
Like many other states, Florida operates on a point system to help traffic driver traffic violations. When you receive a citation for a moving violation, you will be assigned a specific number of points depending on the offence. If you receive too many points in a certain timeframe, your license may be suspended and/or revoked.
|Points Accumulated||Length of Time||License Suspension|
|12||1 year||30 days|
|18||18 months||3 months|
|24||3 years||1 year|
Commiting a total of 15 violations that give you at least one point, or three major offenses, in a five year period will result in license revocation.
Careless Driving = 3 points
Failure to stop = 3 points
Speeding = 3 points
Reckless Driving = 4 points
Failure to obey traffic signal = 4 points
550+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Ace your DMV test, guaranteed