Are you a teenager looking to get your Florida learner’s permit? Well, then you’ve come to the right place. You can start the process of applying for your permit after you’ve turned 15 years old. If you’re older than 18, you can get an unrestricted license immediately.
In this guide, we’ll go through each step of the process so you know exactly what to expect.
To apply for your permit, you’ll need to visit the DMV. Find a location near you and schedule an appointment if required.
There are a few documents you must present to successfully apply for a driver’s permit in Florida. These documents must be originals — photocopied versions or originals altered in any way may be rejected.
After your documents are approved, you’ll be required to pass a simple vision and hearing test. If you need a hearing aid, glasses, or contact lenses, you may use them during the screening. If you cannot hear and respond to a conversational tone of voice, you will be required to wear a hearing aid while driving. Additionally, if vision is determined to be under 20/40, you may not be able to receive your license.
Florida offers both in-person and online testing options for the written test.
The written knowledge test contains 50 multiple-choice questions that cover traffic laws, traffic control identification, and safe driving practices. To pass the test, you must get 80%, or 40 questions correct.
The Florida driver’s handbook is a great place to start, as it contains everything, you’ll need to know for both the permit test, as well as the road exam later on. However, studying solely from a textbook can get mundane and uninspiring quickly.
That’s where Zutobi comes in handy! Learn at your own pace and track your progress along the way. Simply put, a gamified experience that helps make learning Florida rules of the road as fun as it can be!
You can also test your knowledge today using our free practice test.
The Florida learners permit fee is currently $48.00. You’ll also have to pay a $10.00 retesting fee if you need to take the knowledge test a second time.
Payment options include cash, check, and credit/debit cards.
To progress to a restricted license, you’ll need to be at least 16, have held your permit for at least a year, and have completed and logged 50 hours of driving time. A restricted license allows you to drive alone under certain circumstances.
That’s everything you need to know about getting your learner’s permit in Florida. We hope this guide has helped you out. If you need any help studying for your upcoming knowledge or driving exams, then Zutobi is the perfect study resource with a summarized handbook, practice tests, and a gamified experience.
550+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Ace your DMV test, guaranteed