drivers license

How to Get a Driver’s License in Kansas: The Ultimate Guide

Zutobi
by Zutobi · Updated May 04, 2021

If you’re under the age of 17 and you have never held a Kansas driver’s license, you will have to go through the graduated driver’s license program. You’ll first get a learner’s permit, which will allow you to drive under supervision. Then you’ll be able to drive on your own with a restricted driver’s license. Finally, with a full license, all driving restrictions will be removed.

In this guide, we’ll go through each step of the process to make it easy to understand.

The Learner’s Permit

You need to be at least 14 years old to apply for a learner’s permit in Kansas. You’ll then have to 

  • Pass a written test, which includes 25 questions about basic traffic laws and road signs. You need at least 20/25 (80%) for a passing score.
  • Pass a vision test that requires a vision of at least 20/40 in one eye.

We strongly recommend that you study properly for the written test. About 50% fail nation-wide, so coming unprepared will likely lead to you having to re-do the test. This is also where Zutobi comes in – we make studying for your test easy with our summarized driver’s handbook, up-to-date Kansas practice tests, and gamified learning experience.

Note: You won’t have to take the written test if you’ve passed a Kansas-approved driver’s education test. Online driver’s education programs are not approved.

Permit Restrictions

After passing a vision test and written knowledge exam, you will finally get your learner’s permit. You do, however, need to be aware of the restrictions placed on permit holders in Kansas. They are:

  • You’ll need to have a licensed driver in the front passenger seat who is 21 years old or older. 
  • You cannot use any type of mobile device except in emergencies.

Restricted Kansas Driver’s License

The restricted driver’s license is the second stage of the Kansas graduated license program. To get your restricted license, there’s another series of requirements.

Restricted License Requirements

If you’re between the ages of 15 and 16, you can get the MORE restricted driver’s license. Make sure that you have completed the following requirements:

  • Completed and passed a Kansas-approved driver’s ed course
  • Held a learner’s permit for at least a year
  • 25 hours of driving (not including any driver’s ed behind-the-wheel) logged and verified

If you’re between the ages of 16 and 17, you can get the LESS restricted driver’s license, and you do not have to complete a driver’s education program. Make sure that you have completed the following requirements:

How to Get Your Restricted Driver’s License 

You can go to any driver licensing office on a walk-in basis or apply online for certain locations. You’ll need your social security number, identification, and two documents of Kansas residency. If you’re under 17, you’ll need permission from a parent or guardian, who also must have a valid ID. Also, remember to bring your signed driving log and, if you took it, a certificate of completion for driver’s ed. Bring money to pay your fees.

You’ll have to pass another written test unless you have completed driver’s ed. There will also be a vision test, requiring at least 20/40 vision in one eye. Finally, you’ll take a road test which will involve driving through various traffic situations with an instructor who will evaluate your driving performance. 

Note: You won’t need to take the road test if you’ve taken it through driver’s ed and bring a DE-99 completion slip.

Driving Restrictions with a Restricted License

If you have the more restricted version of the restricted license, you’re allowed to drive on your own to school or work only. To drive anywhere else, you’ll need a licensed driver who is age 21 or older in the front seat. With the exception of siblings, you cannot drive other minors around, and you may not use any mobile device except in emergencies. During this time, you’ll need to complete your logged 50 hours of driving.

Once you have 50 driving hours logged, and you turn 16, OR if you get the less restricted license, you’ll be able to drive anywhere between 5 a.m. and 9 p.m., and anytime to work, school, or religious services.

Getting Your Full Kansas Driver’s License

You can get your full Kansas driver’s license once you have held the less restricted license for six months, or have reached the age of 17.

If you’ve held a learner permit and restricted license, all you’ll need is your signed driving log (50 total driving hours), identification, and fees. If you don’t have a DE-99 completion slip from a driver’s ed course, you’ll also have to pass a road test.

New Drivers Over 17

If you’re 17 or older, you can apply for the full driver’s license without getting a permit or a restricted license. In that case, be sure to bring identification, social security number, and proof of residency documents to the Kansas DMV. You’ll have to pass a written knowledge test, a vision test, and finally a road test as well.

Your full driver’s license will be valid until you turn 21, or for four or six years. 

That’s It!

That’s everything you need to know about getting your driver’s license in Kansas. We hope this guide has helped you out and that you now feel comfortable with the steps moving forward.

Take our full course with tests and theory

550+ exam-like questions

All you need to ace your test

Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens

cloud
town