drivers license

How to Get Your Kansas Learner’s Permit: A Complete Guide

Zutobi
by Zutobi · Updated May 04, 2021

If you’ve never held a license, and you’re under the age of 17, you’ll have to go through the graduated driver’s license program.

The first step is to get a Kansas learner’s permit, which will allow you to drive under the supervision of a licensed driver. The second step is to drive on your own with a restricted driver’s license. The third (and last) step is the unrestricted license, which will allow you to drive like any other adult in the state. 

In this guide, we’ll go through the first step in your licensing journey – the learner’s permit.

Kansas Learner’s Permit Requirements

Before you go to a Kansas driver licensing office to apply for your learner’s permit, you’ll need to meet the following requirements.

  • You must be at least 14 years old
  • If you’re under 16, you’ll need approval from a parent or guardian

How to Get a Learner's Permit in Kansas

To finish the process of getting your permit, you’ll need to go to a Kansas DMV. You’ll have to bring proof of identity documents, your social security number, and Kansas residency proof. There, you’ll have to:

  • Pass a written test, which includes 25 questions about traffic laws and road signs. You need to score at least 80% to pass.
  • Pass a vision test with a visual acuity of at least 20/40 in one eye.
  • Pay permit fees.

The written test is one of the hardest parts of getting your Kansas driver’s permit with over a 50% fail rate nation-wide, so we strongly recommend that you use a proper study resource such as Zutobi. We make studying for your test easy with our summarized driver’s handbook, up-to-date Kansas practice tests, and gamified learning experience. 

If you’ve passed a driver’s education test that’s Kansas-approved, you won’t need to take the written test. The driver’s ed program must be approved by the Kansas Department of Education and taken through your local school district. Online driver’s education programs are not approved.

Driver's Permit Restrictions

Once you’ve passed the necessary tests and gotten your driver’s permit, you are ready to hit the road. However, you are not allowed to use any type of mobile device, except in an emergency. At this point, you’ll also need to have a licensed driver in the front passenger seat who is 21 years old or older.

How to Progress to a Restricted License

If you’re under 16 and want to progress, then you must have logged at least 25 hours of driving (confirmed with a signature from your parent or guardian), and have held your permit for at least a year.  You must also complete a Kansas-approved drivers ed course.

If you’re between 16 and 17 years old, then you need to hold your learner’s permit for at least a year and complete 50 hours of supervised driving, of which 10 are at night. Drivers ed is not necessary.

That’s It!

That’s everything you need to know about getting your learner’s permit in Kansas. If you need any help studying for your upcoming knowledge or driving exams, then Zutobi is the perfect study resource with a summarized handbook, practice tests, and a gamified learning experience on the web and mobile.

Take our full course with tests and theory

550+ exam-like questions

All you need to ace your test

Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens

cloud
town