Learning how to drive as a teenager or young adult is an empowering experience. Many are excited to do so, as it can open doors to tons of freedom and flexibility to travel within your local area. Getting your Louisiana driver’s license can take some time but is simple if you know what to do.
Teenage drivers in Louisiana will have to complete the state’s Graduated Licensing Program. The program was designed to guide youthful, inexperienced driving students through two phases before receiving their permanent driver’s license.
Step 1: Complete Driver’s Education
Step 2: Apply for Learner’s Permit
Step 3: Complete Supervised Driving Requirements
Step 4: Obtain Intermediate License
Step 5: Apply for Permanent Driver’s License
However, if you are over the age of 18, feel free to skip to Step 5 and complete all the instructions listed.
Driver’s education is the first step towards getting your Louisiana driver’s license as a teenager. If you are between the ages of 15 and 17, you will be required to present a certificate showing you have successfully completed a driver’s education course within the state. This requirement can be completed in two ways.
Many Louisiana high schools offer driver’s education to their students free of charge. Be sure to ask your school’s secretary to confirm if the program is available. It may be only offered at certain times of the school year. You will receive course credit on your high school transcript that you can present to the Louisiana OMV to satisfy this requirement.
If driver’s education within your high school is unavailable, enrolling in one of Louisiana’s many state approved commercial driving schools is another option for you. While this will come with a cost, you will also be able to choose your class day and class time. You will be required to complete a minimum of 30 hours of classroom instruction as well as 8 hours of behind the wheel instruction as part of the course. A certificate will be given to you acknowledging your completion of this requirement.
After completing driver’s education, you will be prompted to apply for your learner’s permit. You will need to be 15 years of age at the time of application, and present your certificate of completion or high school transcript with driver’s education credit. With a learner’s permit, you will be able to practice driving with a licensed parent or guardian who is at least 21 years old or a licensed sibling at least 18 years old.
Here’s how to apply.
When applying for your Louisiana learner permit, your visual acuity will be checked. You will be expected to have 20/40 vision in one or both eyes to pass the exam. Be sure you are utilizing your prescribed glasses or contact lenses to ensure the most accurate result.
The written driving test contains 40 questions about road signs, traffic laws, and more rules of the road within the state. You must answer 32 of these questions correctly to pass the exam.
Many students try using the Louisiana state drivers handbook as a study guide when preparing for the written driving exam. While it may work for a few, it is quite ineffective for the majority of student drivers. Zutobi offers an efficient alternative, combining an incredibly interactive platform with a rich knowledge base allowing users to track their progress and revisit topics anytime they please. Sign up for Zutobi for free today and join over 250,000 students in their journey to learn how to drive safely!
Pay $32.25 fee (plus up to $6 in service fees)
If you are under 18, you will be required to hold your learner’s permit for 6 months before an upgrade. Student drivers over 18 will only need to wait 30 days before upgrading to a permanent license (Step 5).
Minors under 18 holding a Louisiana learner’s permit will need to complete supervised driving during the six month holding period. This must be a total of 50 hours of driving, with 15 of those hours occurring during evening hours. You must be accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian that is at least 21 years old or a licensed sibling that is at least 18 years old.
The intermediate driver’s license is reserved for minors between the ages of 16 and 18 who have held their learners’ license for at least six months and have completed 50 hours of supervised driving. During the six month period, you must not have had any at-fault crashes or moving violations in order to be eligible.
To apply for your intermediate license, visit your local OMV:
With an intermediate license, you need to follow these restrictions:
On your 17th birthday, you will be able to upgrade to a permanent, adult driver’s license.
If you have started the Graduated License Program, you’ll simply need to upgrade your license on the next visit to the OMV.
If you’re over the age of 18 and haven’t gone through the Graduated Licensing Program, this is the first (and last) step towards getting your driver’s license in the state of Louisiana.
This is what you’ll need to do to apply for a permanent driver’s license.
In Louisiana, both minors and adults are required to complete driver’s education in order to obtain a permanent driver’s license. However, if you are over 18 years old, the course you take only has to include 6 hours of classroom instruction and 8 hours of behind the wheel training.
You may take the 38 hour course for minors if you need extra practice. The course you choose must be approved by the Louisiana Department of Public Safety & Corrections.
You must apply for your driver’s license at your local Office of Motor Vehicles.
The vision test is necessary to examine how well you’ll be able to see road signs, as well as other drivers and pedestrians on the road. You must pass the exam with a score of 20/40 vision in one or both eyes.
The written knowledge exam covers important road signs, traffic laws, and safe driving techniques. With 40 questions on the test, you must answer 32 of them correctly to pass. Utilize online study guides such as Zutobi to ensure the best chance of success on the written knowledge exam.
When applying for your permanent driver’s license, your behind the wheel driving skills will also be tested. The road exam will cover driving maneuvers and assess how well you operate a motor vehicle in a natural setting. Be sure to practice driving often to gain familiarity behind the wheel.
Pay $32.25 fee (plus up to $6 in service fees)
Congratulations! You will be given a temporary paper license and your permanent card will arrive at the mailing address listed on your application.
Your Louisiana driver’s license will expire six years from your nearest birthday. Check out our renewal guide here.
Luckily, the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles makes it super simple for new residents to transfer their licenses to the state. All you’ll need to do is visit your local OMV with the following:
You will also have to pass a vision exam and pay a fee of $32.25 (plus up to $6 in service fees. Your new license will be mailed to you in 1-2 weeks.