Renewing your driver’s license in Louisiana is a fairly straight forward event. Here is our quick and easy guide to making the renewal process as stress-free as possible.
Your driver’s license will expire six years from your nearest birthday. You can renew it within 180 days of the expiration date. You have a 10 day grace period after your expiration date before it is legally expired. If you renew after the ten-day grace period, there will be a $15 late fee on top of any regular fees.
If you are under the age of 70, you may be invited to renew your Louisiana driver’s license by mail or internet. You won’t be invited to do so two times in a row. If you are selected, you will receive an invitation and application instructions in the mail roughly 100 days before your license expires.
If you are renewing in person or upgrading to a REAL-ID, you can visit any Louisiana OMV Field Office location to do so.
During Covid-19, Louisiana offices allow you to apply for driver’s license renewal by:
You will need to bring your current Louisiana license to turn in, proof of id, and proof of social security number. Common documents are your original birth certificate and your social security card. You can find a full document list here.
If you are applying for a REAL ID, you will need one primary document and two secondary documents. You are also required to renew in person.
Starting Oct 26, 2021, you will be required to have a REAL-ID to board planes, enter government buildings, or enter military establishments.
If you renew for a standard id, it will be printed with the words “Not for Federal Identification” on it. You will need to carry extra proof of identification to enter the areas listed above.
Follow the instructions provided in your invitation. You can contact the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles at (225) 925-6146.
Gather your identification, such as your social security number. Then follow the prompts listed on Expresslane.org or the LA Wallet App. If your license is suspended or revoked, you will not be able to renew online.
You can NOT renew your Louisiana driver’s license while it is suspended or revoked. You will have to wait until it ends, then have your license reinstated before you can renew it. You can check the status of your license here.
Here is the range you can expect to pay for your renewal fees.
Class D (Chauffeurs)
Standard: $54.75 – $60.75
Orleans Rate: $66.00 – $72.00
If you are over 70: $34.13 – $40.13
If you are over 70 in New Orleans: $39.75 – $45.75
Add $12 for MC endorsement
Add a $15 late fee if expired over 10 days
Class E (Personal)
Standard Rate: $32.25 – $38.25
If you are over age 70: $18.75 – $24.75
Add a $15 late fee if the license is expired over 10 days
You can find the breakdown of fees, rates, and service fees here.
Want to find out more helpful information to be a safe and responsible driver? Refresh your knowledge of the latest laws and safe driving practices with our summarized Louisiana Driver’s Manual. You’ll find great information, test your mastery, and find more information about your license in our blog archive.
550+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Ace your DMV test, guaranteed