Louisiana OMV Practice Test 2022

The Louisiana OMV permit test consists of 40 questions, and you must answer at least 32 questions correctly to get a passing score (80%). The questions in our sample tests are nearly identical to those on the official LA exam.

Not your state?
What to expect on the official LA permit test
Number of questions:
40
Correct answers needed to pass:
32
Passing score:
80%
Minimum age to apply:
15years
Minimum period between attempts:
1day
practice test
Questions

When facing a green light at an intersection, you may proceed:

After yielding to traffic already in the intersection
BWithout yielding to traffic already in the intersection

Before proceeding at an intersection, you're always required to yield to traffic already in the intersection. This applies even if you're facing a green light.

What is the penalty for leaving the scene of a crash resulting in serious injury?

License suspension or revocation, fines & imprisonment
BFines only
CImprisonment only

Drivers in Louisiana convicted of leaving a crash scene resulting in injury will receive a fine of no more than $500, and/or face imprisonment for up to 6 months. If the accident results in death or serious bodily injury and the driver knew or should have known about the injuries, the maximum fine is $5,000 and /or up to 10 years of imprisonment. Permanent revocation of your license is also a possibility.

What information should you exchange with other involved parties in a car accident?

Name, address, driver's license information, insurance information and phone number
BYour name only
CYou should not give out any information except to law enforcement

Exchange your name, address, driver's license information, insurance information and phone number with anyone else involved in the crash. After exchanging information, write down as much information about the crash as possible. This includes weather conditions, road conditions, time of the crash, and how the crash occurred. This will help determine who is at fault and help with insurance claims. Crashes in Louisiana must be immediately reported in incidents of injury, fatality, or vehicle- or property damage exceeding $500. If the property damage exceeds $100, you must file a report within 1 day.

Are headphones covering both ears prohibited while driving?

Yes
BNo

Headphones covering both ears must not be used while driving in Louisiana. Some hearing aids and headsets built into motorcycle helmets are exempt from this rule.

When may you turn right on a red light?

AAt all times
Unless signs prohibit
COnly if signs permit

If the turn can be made safely, you may turn right on a red light in Louisiana after coming to a complete stop and yielding to any pedestrians/vehicles lawfully proceeding through the intersection. Look for signs that prohibit the turn.

What should you do if you crash into an unattended vehicle and you're unable to locate the owner?

AWait until the owner shows up
BLeave the scene
Leave a note with all the necessary details

If you crash into an unattended vehicle, you're expected to make a reasonable attempt to locate the owner of the vehicle. If unable to locate the owner, you should instead leave a note in a secure place with your contact information and details regarding the crash. In additon, you should take pictures of the scene (including damage to the other car and their license plate number), and notify your insurance company as well as the nearest police department about the accident. Crashes in Louisiana must be immediately reported in incidents of injury, fatality, or vehicle- or property damage exceeding $500. If the property damage exceeds $100, you must file a report within 1 day.

When may you turn left on a red light?

From a one-way street onto another one-way street
BFrom a two-way street onto another two-way street
CFrom a one-way street onto a two-way street

In Louisiana, some left turns may be permitted on red when turning from a one-way street onto another one-way street. Before turning, make sure the turn is permitted and yield to any pedestrians/vehicles lawfully proceeding through the intersection.

How far away from a school bus loading or unloading passengers do vehicles have to stop?

display
A10 feet
B15 feet
C20 feet
30 feet

In Lousiana, drivers from both directions have to stop at least 30 feet away from a school bus loading or unloading passengers. School buses use flashing red lights to indicate that the bus is stopped to load or unload school children. Do not proceed until the school bus has started driving again and the roadway is clear of people. A stop is not required when the bus is stopped in a loading zone completely off the roadway (and children are not allowed to cross the roadway), or when driving on the opposite side of a roadway divided by a grassy median, ditch, or other obstacle that prevents drivers from driving thereon. Additionally, drivers are not required to stop when on a four or five-lane road separated by a dedicated two-way left turn lane. However, drivers must stop if the four-lane road is not separated by a barrier.

What is the standard maximum speed limit in school zones?

A15 mph
20 mph
C25 mph

Louisiana school zone speed limits are in effect between 7am - 9am, from 2:45pm - 4:45, and when children are present. Look for signs that indicate otherwise. Be extremely careful close to schools as children are unpredictable and may cross the road without warning.

Why must you be prepared to stop when driving behind a school bus and approaching a railroad crossing?

ABecause buses usually get stuck on the railroad tracks
Because school buses must stop before crossing the tracks
CBecause buses are prohibited from crossing railroad tracks

School buses, vehicles carrying passengers for hire, and vehicles transporting hazardous material must stop at all railroad crossings in Louisiana. If you are driving behind any of these vehicles, you should be prepared to stop as well.

Texting while driving is:

display
ANot recommended, but legal
Illegal

Texting while driving is prohibited for all drivers in Louisiana. This is because any such use will severely distract you and increase the risk of a crash. In addition, school bus drivers and drivers within their first year of licensure are prohibited from using a cell phone at all while driving. There is also a hand-held ban for drivers with a learner or intermediate license. It's recommended that you pull off the road and stop if you need to make a call. Never use a phone when driving in hazardous conditions as you must focus all your attention on driving.

For how long must you signal before making a turn?

At least 100 feet
BAt least 200 feet
CAt least 350 feet

To prevent a crash, other drivers need to know your intentions well in advance. In Louisiana, you must signal for at least 100 feet before turning. At higher speeds, consider signaling for far longer.

Correctly adjusting your mirrors will:

display
ARemove all blind spots
Help you scan the surroundings properly and minimize the blind spots
CImprove the aerodynamic properties of the vehicle

Make sure your mirrors are correctly adjusted and clean. Otherwise, you won’t be able to scan properly.

What does this warning sign mean?

display
ASharp right turn
BLeft turn only
CLeft turn prohibited
Sharp left turn

This sign warns you that there is a sharp turn to the left ahead. The advisory speed limit is 30 mph in ideal conditions. The sign varies depending on the direction of the turn.

Should the left lane on a highway be used for passing or for vehicles driving slower than the rest of traffic?

display
Passing
BVehicles driving slower than the rest of traffic

Generally, the left lane should be used for passing and the right lane for vehicles driving slower than the rest of traffic. Don’t disrupt the traffic flow by staying in the left lane for longer than necessary.

What does this sign mean?

display
AHairpin curve ahead
Sharp turn ahead
CRoundabout ahead
DT-intersection ahead

This sign warns of a 270 degree turn ahead.

When giving CPR, you should pump hard and fast at the rate of ____.

display
A10-20 times per minute
100-120 times per minute
C200-250 times per minute

When a casualty isn’t breathing, you may need to give CPR to maintain circulation.

How can you recognize bad pavement?

display
AThe pavement looks smooth
The pavement has many different patterns

It’s important to know if you’re driving on good or bad pavement. For example, it may be best to slow down and avoid passing on roads with bad pavement. Further indications of bad pavement are potholes and/or cracks.

You’re driving on the freeway. What should you do when approaching an acceleration lane/on-ramp?

display
ANothing, as you have the right-of-way
BDrive as close to the vehicle in front of you as possible
Let other drivers merge into your lane by slowing down or changing lanes

Always make it as easy as possible for other drivers to merge. When approaching an acceleration lane, you should either change lanes or leave a large-enough gap in front of your vehicle for traffic to merge into.

You see a sign with this shape, and you instantly know there’s:

display
A railroad crossing ahead
BAn intersection ahead
CA construction zone ahead
DA school zone ahead

A round sign warns of a railroad crossing ahead. Railroad crossings are very dangerous, and you must be prepared to stop.

Is the Louisiana Permit Test Hard?

That all depends on how you prepare for it. About 50% fail their permit test nation-wide, which shows that it's harder than people expect.

Zutobi provides practice tests with questions taken from past and current Louisiana permit tests, and with these questions and other material we offer in our driving course, you’ll be fully prepared for any question they ask you.

Pass Your Louisiana Permit Test with Zutobi

With Zutobi, 95% of our customers report a passing score on their first try. Here’s how Zutobi can help.

  • First and foremost, leave the Louisiana driver’s manual in the rearview. Our summarized driver’s manual is a better way to learn how to drive.
  • Learn everything you need to know to earn your permit — from road signs and their meanings to driving techniques like parallel parking and three-point turns.
  • Have fun as you study through our gamification system.
  • Challenge your friends to some healthy competition as you earn points in our different learning levels.
  • Test your knowledge before the real written test with our Louisiana OMV permit practice tests.
  • Switch seamlessly between your mobile phone and computer

Try Our FREE Louisiana OMV Permit Practice Test

Test what you think you already know with our free Louisiana OMV permit practice test, then sign up for our driving course.

Ace your DMV test, guaranteed