Are you looking to get your Louisiana Learner’s Permit? If so, you’ve come to the right place. The process may seem complicated, but it doesn’t have to be. In this article, we’ll go through all the details so you know exactly what to expect.
A learner’s permit is used to practice driving with a licensed parent or guardian before progressing to an intermediate license. Let’s go through when you’re eligible to apply:
Many Louisiana high schools offer driver’s education to their students free of charge during certain parts of the year. However, if you choose a driving school, you’ll have more control over the classes, but it will cost. During the course, you must complete a minimum of 30 hours of classroom instruction as well as 8 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction.
If you are eligible to apply for a permit, here’s a step-by-step guide about all you need to know – from going to the Louisiana OMV office to receiving your learner’s permit.
You need to bring proper documentation to your local Louisiana OMV office.
When applying for your Louisiana learner permit, your visual acuity will be checked. You will be expected to have 20/40 vision in one or both eyes to pass the exam. Be sure you are utilizing your prescribed glasses or contact lenses to ensure the most accurate result.
The written driving test contains 40 questions about road signs, traffic laws, and more rules of the road within the state. You must answer 32 of these questions correctly to pass the exam.
Many students try using the Louisiana state drivers handbook as a study guide when preparing for the written driving exam. While it may work for a few, it is quite ineffective for the majority of student drivers.
Zutobi offers an efficient alternative, combining an incredibly interactive platform with a rich knowledge base allowing users to track their progress and revisit topics anytime they please. Try our free Lousiana knowledge tests or sign up for our full course.
At the time of writing, you’ll need to pay a $32.25 permit fee (plus up to $6 in service fees).
If you meet the minimum requirements, completed all of the steps above, and passed the required tests – then you will receive your Louisiana learner’s permit.
The Louisiana OMV requires drivers under 18 to hold their learner’s permit for 6 months before an upgrade, while student drivers over 18 will only need to wait 30 days before upgrading to a permanent license.
During your learner’s period, minors must complete a total of 50 hours of supervised driving, with 15 of those hours occurring during evening hours. Supervised driving means that you are accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian that is at least 21 years old, a licensed sibling that is at least 18 years old, or a licensed driving instructor.
During this six month period, you must not have had any at-fault crashes or moving violations.
That’s everything you need to know about getting your learner’s permit in the state of Louisiana. If you need any help studying for your upcoming knowledge or driving exams, then Zutobi is the perfect study resource with a summarized handbook, Louisiana practice tests, and a gamified learning experience.
550+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Ace your DMV test, guaranteed