Getting your Missouri driver’s license is a multi-step process. Like in many states, underage drivers will need to successfully complete a Graduated Drivers License program in order to be able to legally drive within the state. In Missouri, teenagers aged 15 years and older will be eligible to begin the process.
The GDL program is a three-step process, beginning with the instruction permit. Our guide will go through everything you need to know about getting a driver’s license in Missouri.
At 15, you will be eligible for your instruction permit. It will be valid for a total of 12 months. There are many different rules and restrictions you will have to abide by when you have a permit.
If you want to know more about this phase, we recommend that you read our in-depth instruction permit guide here.
Besides the requirements listed above, you will need to complete the following steps to get your instruction permit.
Taking certain exams will be necessary before applying for a physical card at the driver’s license office. You are allowed to visit any location within the state of Missouri.
You must show verification of your name and age. For most drivers, a high school ID is sufficient.
The state of Missouri requires drivers to pass the vision exam with a 20/40 score or better.
The written and road signs recognition test is a vital portion of the GDL program. It will test you on various traffic laws throughout the state, as well as road signs. There are 25 questions on the test and you will need to answer 20 in order to pass.
Need help passing the written exam? Everybody could use a study guide. However, just utilizing the Missouri Driver’s Handbook is oftentimes boring and hardly effective for many. Luckily, Zutobi has you covered! Our gamified platform, summarized handbook, and Missouri permit practice tests allows you to have fun while learning core driving concepts and road signs.
After passing your tests at the Examination Station, you will then need to obtain your physical permit at the Driver License Office. You can visit any Missouri Driver License Office in the state.
At the time of writing, the Missouri permit fee is $3.50 by cash, check, money order or credit/debit card.
The Missouri intermediate license is the next part of the GDL program. You will be eligible for this step while you’re between the ages of 16 and 18 years old. You are under 18, you will need to bring a parent to certify you have completed 40 hours of driving.
You will need to complete the following steps to get your intermediate license.
Did you think you would only need to go to the examination station when applying for your permit? Another trip to the examination station is required before applying for your intermediate license.
You will only be required to take these tests if the results are 12 months or older.
The Missouri driving test will examine your ability to properly operate a motor vehicle in the state. You will be asked to perform various maneuvers, turns, and parallel parking, amongst other driving techniques. A vehicle is required for the exam and it must meet legal safety standards, while also being fully operable.
After passing the road exam, visit the driver license office to receive your intermediate license.
At the time of writing, you will be assessed a $7.50 fee for your Missouri intermediate license, so remember to bring cash, check, money order or credit/debit card.
You can read the entire list here.
If you’ve made it through the GDL program, this is the last step! You can apply for your full Missouri driver’s license at the age of 18.
However, if this is your first time getting a license, you will need to visit a driver examination station and take the written, road, signs, and vision exam. Remember to bring necessary documentation as well as a $20 fee (at the time of writing) to retrieve your driver’s license.
You will receive a temporary license at the time of application. Your permanent Missouri driver’s license will be mailed to you within 7 to 10 business days.
That’s all you need to know about getting your driver’s license in the state of Missouri. We hope this guide has helped you understand the process a little bit better. If you need help studying for your exams – then you’ve come to the right place.
550+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Ace your DMV test, guaranteed