Like many states, Missouri requires new drivers to complete their version of the Graduated Drivers License program in order to become licensed. All drivers between the ages of 15 and 18 years old are required to obtain both an instruction permit (also known as drivers permit) and an intermediate license before gaining full driving privileges.
According to studies completed by the CDC, this practice has many benefits, including significantly decreasing the risk of fatal accidents amongst younger drivers.
Understanding how to get a driver’s permit in Missouri is important to gaining your license as a teenager. In this blog, we’ll explain all you need to know about the process.
Your instruction permit will be valid for 12 months, but you will only need to hold it for a limited time before graduating to an intermediate license.
Before heading to the driver license office, you will need to visit the examination office in order to complete certain tests.
For your Missouri instruction permit, you must present proof of identification and age. Your high school ID will be sufficient.
Your vision will be tested. You must pass with a 20/40 or better to pass.
The written and road signs test is the most important part of the learner permit process, as well as the GDL program in its entirety. You’ll be tested on several road signs and traffic laws throughout the state. With 25 questions on the exam, 20, or 80%, of questions will need to be answered correctly in order to pass.
After completing the above tests, you will need to make time to visit the Missouri Driver License Office.
You will be charged a fee of $3.50, payable by cash, credit card, or money order.
A Missouri driver’s permit comes with many restrictions. If you do not adhere to them, you may face additional consequences before moving on to the next step of the GDL.
After meeting the above criteria, you will be eligible to obtain your intermediate license.
If it has been over one year since your previous results, you will be required to retake the written and vision test again at the examination office.
You will also need to take the Missouri road test to examine your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle statewide. A test administrator will ask you to perform certain maneuvers, such as parallel parking, street turns, two-point turns, and more. You will be required to provide your own, fully operable vehicle in order to take the exam.
Like the permit, the Missouri intermediate driver’s license comes with restrictions as well.
Your intermediate license will be valid for up to 2 years. To graduate to a full under 21 license:
That’s all you need to know about getting your Missouri instruction permit. We hope this guide has helped you understand the process and requirements a bit better!
550+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Ace your DMV test, guaranteed