License renewals can be a time-consuming hassle. Here at Zutobi, we aim to make your process as painless as it can be.
In this guide, we will go through everything you need to know about renewing your driver’s license in New Hampshire.
In New Hampshire, a driver’s license is valid for up to 5 years, and it expires on your birthday. You will automatically receive a reminder notice in the mail about 2 months before it expires.
You can renew in person up to 6 months before your expiration date. If you want to renew online, you will need to wait for your 2-month notice.
If your license has expired, the process varies based on how long it has been invalid for driving:
There is NO grace period for expired licenses. In fact, driving without a valid license comes with some HEAVY penalties.
If you drive with an expired license, the first offense comes with a fine of up to $1000. A second offence is a Class B misdemeanor with up to $1200 in fines and 4 demerit points on your driving record. If you are also convicted of a driving violation while driving without a valid license, your driving privileges can be revoked for up to 12 months!
You have the option to renew your New Hampshire driver’s license either online or in-person, however, the requirements and steps to complete the process will vary depending on which option you choose.
You can’t renew online until you’ve received your renewal notice in the mail. You need the RIN on the slip to do so.
You will NOT receive an online renewal option if:
If you are turning 21, you can renew on your birthday to automatically get the “Over 21” horizontal card. Otherwise, you will need to go in-person after you turn 21 to update your card.
If you satisfy the requirements and you received an invitation to renew online, follow these steps:
Careful! If you get ‘locked out’ from too many failed verification attempts, you will have to renew in person.
You will need to renew your license in person if:
To get started, find your local DMV office using the provided tool, and make sure you come prepared. You will then need to follow these steps:
The cost for renewing a driver’s license in New Hampshire varies based on what kind of license you need:
You can pay by Visa or Mastercard if you qualify for online renewal. The DMV accepts American Express in person. You can also pay cash or check/money order in person! Make the check or money order out to “State of DH-DMV”.
Note that the renewal fees may be subject to change, so make sure to check the latest fees on the New Hampshire DMV website.
Starting May 3, 2023, a standard driver’s license will not qualify as your federal ID. The date used to be Oct 1, 2021, however, DHS announced another extension on April 27, 2021.
This means it does not count as a valid id to board a plane, visit a military base, or enter some government and nuclear facilities. If you need access to any of these things, it helps to have a REAL-ID or current passport.
That’s everything you need to know about renewing your driver’s license in New Hampshire, make sure to do so well before your license expires to avoid unnecessary complications. If you need help studying for renewal exams, then Zutobi is the perfect study resource with state-of-the-art refresher exams.
550+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Ace your DMV test, guaranteed