by Zutobi · Updated Jul 16, 2021
Is it time for your New Mexico driver’s license renewal? We’ve compiled all of the information you need to know in this guide such as requirements, options, and the steps you need to complete.
What is the Grace Period in New Mexico?
New Mexico gives its drivers a 30-day grace period to drive on an expired license. If you drive without a valid license after that, it is a misdemeanor. You could be subject to up to $300 fines and 90 days jail time. If your license was suspended or revoked, the penalties are a lot higher.
How to Renew a New Mexico Driver’s License
New Mexico allows you to renew your license online or in person. It will be valid for 4-8 years depending on your license plan.
To qualify to renew online, you must meet all the following requirements:
- Be 18 to 79 years old.
- Have conducted your last renewal in person.
- Have a non-commercial driver’s license.
- Have your Social Security number (SSN) on file with the NM Motor Vehicle Division.
- Not have any changes to your health since your last renewal.
- Not have any outstanding traffic tickets or arrest warrants.
- Have a driver’s license that is expiring within 1 year or has been expired for less than 1 year.
If you satisfy all of the above requirements, follow these simple steps to renew online:
- Visit the MyMVD online portal to renew online. You should make sure you have your license number, SSN, payment, and your date of birth.
- Follow the prompts and verify everything is correct
- Pay via a credit or debit card
- Print out your temporary paper license. Your new license will show up in the mail within 45 days.
Renewal in Person
If you’re not eligible to renew your driver’s license online, you’ll have to renew in person at your local NM MVD office. Here’s how you do it:
- Make sure there are no outstanding tickets, fines, suspensions, or revocations on your driving record before you go. It will cost $6.63 for an uncertified copy.
- Find a New Mexico MVD location near you. Check to see if their location is open on the day you plan to go and make a reservation if they require one.
- Make sure to have your current New Mexico license and bring proof of your identity.
- Take a vision exam.
- Take any other applicable tests. It’s always a good idea to be prepared for the written/driving test, just in case.
- Pay the appropriate fee. You can pay by cash, a check made out to the MVD, or credit card.
- You will receive a temporary paper license, and your new license will arrive at your residential address within 45 days.
How Much Does it Cost to Renew a Driver’s License in New Mexico?
At the time of writing, the New Mexico license renewal fees are as follows:
- $18 for a 4-year license
- $34 for an 8-year license
- Free if you are over the age of 75
- If you are also moving in from out of state, there is an additional $15 fee to check for DWI’s on your record.
- If you request a copy of your driving record beforehand, there is a $6.63 fee. A certified copy is $9.99.
Cash and check are accepted in-person, you will need a credit or debit card for an online renewal.
Remember that license renewal fees may be subject to change, so you should double check at the MVD website.
Do I Need a REAL-ID?
Starting May 3, 2023, a standard driver’s license will not qualify as your federal ID. The date used to be Oct 1, 2021, however, DHS announced another extension on April 27, 2021. You need a REAL-ID, a current passport, or another federally approved id to:
- Board a plane
- Enter a military base
- Enter certain government buildings
- Visit a nuclear facility
That’s everything you need to know about renewing your driver’s license in New Mexico, make sure to do so well before your license expires to avoid unnecessary complications. If you need help studying for renewal exams, then Zutobi is the perfect study resource with state-of-the-art Kentucky refresher exams.