New Mexico (NM) Learner's Permit

Getting Your New Mexico Learner’s Permit

Zutobi
by Zutobi · Updated Jul 02, 2021

If you are between 15 and 18 years old, you must get a learner’s permit (also known as an instruction permit) before you can progress to a full driver’s license. It allows you to drive with an adult who is at least 21 years old.

New Mexico Permit Requirements

To be eligible for a learner’s permit in New Mexico, you first need to enroll in a driver’s education program either through a licensed and certified private provider or through an approved high school program. If you are at least 15 years old and you’ve completed the program successfully, you can apply for your permit by going to the MVD and presenting your completion certificate.

How to Get a Learner’s Permit in New Mexico

You will need to complete the following steps to get your learners permit:

  • Find a time when a parent or guardian can accompany you to the MVD to apply. 
  • Provide completion certificate for your driver’s education course
  • Bring your birth certificate, social security card, and two items that can prove your residency in New Mexico. You can use your parents’ utility, credit card, or mortgage bills.
  • Once you arrive at the licensing bureau, you’ll need to complete an application, which will require the signature of your parent or guardian that states he or she will take financial responsibility for your driving activities. 
  • You’ll have to complete a vision test, which requires that you have at least 20/40 vision in one eye. If you do not meet this minimum requirement, you’ll need to get glasses and carry a vision restriction on your driver’s license.
  • You’ll need to pass a knowledge exam that will test your ability to recognize important road signs as well as traffic laws in the state. 

Completing the knowledge test is one of the hardest parts of getting your New Mexico driver’s permit, so we recommend that you study with a proper study resource. That’s where Zutobi comes in – our gamified driver’s education platform offers a summarized handbook and up-to-date New Mexico permit practice tests to make studying feel like a breeze.

If you complete all of the requirements and tests above, you will receive your permit, which allows you to practice driving with a licensed adult over 21 who has held a valid license for at least three years.

How to Progress to a Provisional License

After you have held your instructional permit for 6 months, and if you have a clean driving record, you can progress to a provisional driver’s license by completing the practical road test. To be eligible for the road test, you first need to complete:

  • 50 hours of supervised practice driving hours, including 10 hours at night
  • an approved driver’s education program with at least 3 hours of behind-the-wheel training

After you have held your provisional license for one year and kept your driving record clean, you may exchange your license for an unrestricted license.

That’s It!

That’s everything you need to know about getting your learner’s permit in New Mexico. If you need any help studying for your upcoming knowledge or driving exams, then Zutobi is the perfect study resource with a summarized handbook, New Mexico practice tests, and a gamified learning experience on web and mobile.

Take our full course with tests and theory

600+ exam-like questions

All you need to ace your test

Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens

cloud
town
student image

Could you ace your DMV test?