Are you looking to get your Oklahoma Learner’s Permit? Then you’ve come to the right place. In this guide, we’ll go through all the important details so you know exactly what to expect.
A learner’s permit is the first stage of the Oklahoma Graduated Licensing program. The permit lets you drive from 5 am to 10 pm while accompanied by another driver over the age of 21.
You must be at least 15 ½ years old to be eligible to apply for a permit.
Teens 15 ½ years old have to complete driver’s education training before they can apply. There are two types of driver education courses.
Enrolling in commercial or high school driver education courses are a popular option for many Oklahoma teens. A number of high schools across the state offer students free driver education courses, teaching them the basics of operating a motor vehicle. On the other hand, you can also enroll in a commercial driver education program. While this option will require a fee, you have the convenience of choosing your instructor, class time, and whether you prefer to attend on weekdays or weekends. State-approved courses include 30 hours of classroom instruction.
Many enjoy being taught by online modules, utilizing their parents or legal guardians as instructors whenever they may have a question. This may also be the most cost-effective option for many families as well. The Oklahoma DPS offers a list of approved Parent Taught Driver Education Providers.
To receive the permit, regardless of age, you first have to pass the Vision Exam and Written Test.
While at the Oklahoma DPS, you will be required to pass a vision exam. Your visual acuity must be at least 20/60 with or without corrective lenses, or 20/50 in one eye.
The written exam tests students over several core driving subjects such as traffic laws, road rules, and safe driving practices. With 50 questions on the exam, you’ll have to answer 40 of them correctly to achieve a passing score of 80%.
Study for your written test using our Oklahoma practice test and summarized manual – there is no better way to pass your test on the first try!
Don’t forget to present proper documentation at the DPS as it’s necessary to take the tests. These are the items to bring:
You will need to hold your Oklahoma driver’s permit for at least six months from the date it was issued before getting an intermediate license.
If you are over 18, you can apply for an unrestricted driver’s license after 30 days.
That’s everything you need to know about getting your learner’s permit in Oklahoma. If you need any help studying for your upcoming knowledge or driving exams, then Zutobi is the perfect study resource with a summarized handbook, Oklahoma practice tests, and a gamified learning experience.
550+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Ace your DMV test, guaranteed