Getting your Oklahoma driver’s license is an important step to independence and economic freedom within the state. For teenagers looking to gain their license, you’ll be required to go through the Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) Program and get a learner’s permit. This process can take between 1 and 2 years but gives younger drivers the opportunity to slowly learn how to safely operate a motor vehicle in the state.
If you’re an adult over the age of 18 looking to gain your drivers’ license, you can skip the GDL, but you’ll still need to apply (step 5 will cover just that).
Step 1: Enroll in Driver Education (Under 16)
Step 2: Apply for Learner’s Permit (Ages 15 ½ to 18)
Step 3: Complete Behind the Wheel Training
Step 4: Apply for Intermediate License (Ages 16-18)
Step 5: Apply for Unrestricted Driver’s License (18+)
The first step of the Oklahoma Graduated Drivers License (GDL) program is to enroll in a state-approved driver education course. There are two types of eligible driver education courses.
Enrolling in commercial or high school driver education courses are a popular option for many Oklahoma teens. A number of high schools across the state offer students free driver education courses, teaching them the basics of operating a motor vehicle. On the other hand, you can also enroll in a commercial driver education program. While this option will require a fee, you have the convenience of choosing your instructor, class time, and whether you prefer to attend on weekdays or weekends. State-approved courses include 30 hours of classroom instruction.
Many enjoy being taught by online modules, utilizing their parents or legal guardians as instructors whenever they may have a question. This may also be the most cost-effective option for many families as well. The Oklahoma DPS offers a list of approved Parent Taught Driver Education Providers.
To aid your understanding, utilizing additional tools such as Zutobi will help you lock down topics such as traffic laws, road signs, and more. We have a summarized driver’s manual, online practice tests, and a gamified system that makes learning the rules of the road fun and easy! This allows you to retain maximum information for your written exam in a shorter amount of time. Try Zutobi for free today and experience the difference.
You must be at least 15 ½ years old to be eligible to apply for an Oklahoma learner’s permit. You can also apply for a permit if you are over 18, but it is not necessary. A driver’s permit will allow you to drive from 5 am to 10 pm while accompanied by another driver over the age of 21.
To apply for a learner’s permit, visit your local TAG agent (Motor License Agent) and follow these steps.
While at the DPS, you will be required to pass a vision exam. Your visual acuity must be at least 20/60 with or without corrective lenses, or 20/50 in one eye.
The written driving exam tests students over several core driving subjects such as traffic laws, road rules, and safe driving practices. With 50 questions on the exam, you’ll have to answer 40 of them correctly to achieve a passing score of 80%.
Study for your written test using our Oklahoma practice test and summarized manual – there is no better way to pass your test on the first try!
You will need to hold your OK learner’s permit for at least six months from the date it was issued before upgrading to an intermediate license. If you are over 18, however, you can apply for an unrestricted Oklahoma driver’s license after 30 days.
Behind-the-wheel training is necessary to apply for your Oklahoma intermediate driver’s license. You will need at least 50 hours of driving practice with a licensed driver over the age of 21. Out of these, 10 driving hours must take place during night time hours. A signed affidavit certifying these hours will be required in moving to the next step.
With an intermediate driver’s license, you are able to finally drive alone between the ages of 5 am and 10 pm. Additionally, you’ll be able to carry one passenger other than those that live in your household. Exceptions can be made if you’re driving for the purpose of school, church, or work-related events.
To apply for an intermediate driver’s license, visit a Motor License Agent and follow these steps.
The Oklahoma driving skills test is one of the more important portions of getting your drivers’ license. You are required to bring your own vehicle to use on the exam. The DPS uses the driving skills test to assess a driver’s ability to operate a motor vehicle safely on state roads and highways. You will also be asked to perform maneuvers such as parallel parking, obeying traffic signs, controlled reversing, and more. You can schedule a driving test for free online.
You must hold your intermediate license for six months before getting your unrestricted driver’s license.
If you have completed the GDL program, you will be allowed to simply upgrade to an unrestricted driver’s license on your next visit to the DPS.
If you’re an adult over the age of 18 looking to gain driving privileges, this is the first step for you. You’ll be allowed to skip the Graduated Drivers License program, but you will still be required to complete certain portions, such as the driving exam and written test.
Your vision will be tested to ensure you have sufficient eyesight to drive safely in Oklahoma. You must pass with a visual acuity score of 20/60 in both eyes, or 20/50 or better in one eye.
The written test is 50 questions and tests your knowledge of driving skills, traffic laws, as well as road signs. You must answer at least 40 of these questions correctly, or pass with a score of 80% or higher. We recommend you to study using our online practice tests and summarized driver’s manual to make are you know everything you need to ace your test.
You can decide to schedule your appointment with your local OK DPS, or you can simply walk-in at your earliest convenience. If you fail the exam, you will need to wait one business day and pay a $4 fee for every retake.
Unlike the written exam, you will need to have a scheduled appointment in order to take your behind-the-wheel exam. You can schedule with your local Oklahoma DPS online free of charge. Be sure you have a properly registered and insured vehicle ready to use before the day of your exam. Your administrator will have to ensure it is in good working order, checking its lights, mirrors, and more.
On the day of your exam, you will be assessed on traffic rules, road signs, and driving maneuvers that will demonstrate your familiarity with operating a motor vehicle. If you fail, your test administrator will give you options on how to retake it.
At the Driver’s License Agent, you will need to pay a fee of $38.50 plus $4 for every written test taken.
Once you’ve completed these steps, you’ll be ready to receive your Oklahoma driver’s license. Whether you’re a teenager or an adult, the process is quite simple, but will require your full understanding of how to safely drive within the state.
Be sure to reference this guide often while you’re on your journey to getting a driver’s license!