Getting a Virginia driver’s license can be a very exciting time for both teenagers and adults. To obtain one, you will go through a few visits to the DMV, as well as tests to ensure you’re fit to safely drive within the state. However, if you know exactly what to do, you’ll get through this process in a breeze!
In this blog, we’ll highlight everything you need to know about obtaining a driver’s license in the state of Virginia!
The first step of the Virginia driver’s license process is getting a learner’s permit – which is required for everyone regardless of age. You are eligible for one as soon as you turn 15 years and 6 months old.
The driver’s education requirements will be different depending on your age, as we go through in detail in our Virginia Learner’s Permit Guide, but you’ll have to complete a written knowledge test and a vision test regardless of age.
The written knowledge test is an exam split into two parts – (1) traffic signs and (2) general traffic laws. You need to answer all 10 questions on the 1st part correctly to move to the 2nd part. The 2nd part then consists of 30 questions, of which you need to get at least 80% correct.
If you need help preparing for your written exam, take our free Virginia practice tests today.
Unless accompanied by a family member over the age of 18, teenage drivers are not allowed to drive between midnight and 4 AM unless driving to work school, or a religious event. Furthermore, you are prohibited from carrying more than one passenger under the age of 21 unless accompanied by a supervisor. All forms of electronic devices are prohibited while driving.
You’re almost there! After completing the above requirement, you’ll finally be able to apply for your Virginia driver’s license. Here’s how you do it.
At the Virginia DMV, you will need to complete a form to apply for a driver’s license. This form can be filled out before your visit.
You will need to provide proof of the following when applying:
The road exam will test your ability to operate a motor vehicle safely within the state. You will be tested on your ability to perform core driving maneuvers, such as parallel parking, turning, maintaining a safe distance, and more.
You will be assessed a vision exam and must pass with 20/40 or better in order to obtain your license.
At the time of writing, the Virginia driver’s license fee is $32 after you’ve completed your road and vision exam.
That’s everything you need to know about getting your Virginia driver’s license. Be sure to follow these instructions precisely to avoid any complications at the DMV. If you need any help preparing for your exams, Zutobi is an excellent study tool.
550+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Ace your DMV test, guaranteed