If you are looking to get your Virginia Learner’s Permit, you’ve come to the right place. In this article, we’ll go through all the details so you know exactly what to do and what to expect.
The first step toward getting a full license is to get a learner’s permit. The permit gives you the ability to practice driving under the supervision of a licensed adult.
You are eligible for a learner’s permit when you turn 15 years and 6 months old. However, depending on your age, the requirements will be a little bit different.
When you are at least 16 and 3 months, you will need to appear for a juvenile licensing ceremony with a parent or guardian to apply for a driver’s license.
Here are the steps you need to complete to get your permit.
The Virginia DMV is where you’ll complete your driver’s license permit application. You may print the form and complete it prior to your visit or do so while at the DMV. If you are under the age of 18, your parent or legal guardian will need to sign off on your application.
Like all visits to the DMV, you will need to provide documentation to obtain your learner permit. Utilize the Virginia DMV’s document guide to figure out which documents you will need to bring.
The knowledge test is one of the most important aspects of gaining your Virginia learner’s permit. The exam is split into two parts. You will first be tested on traffic signs followed by general traffic laws around the state of Virginia. All ten questions on traffic signs must be answered correctly before moving onto the next part. 30 questions are present on the second portion and you must answer 80% of them to pass.
The permit test can be daunting for new drivers. However, there is no need to fear. WIth Zutobi, you’ll be able to pass on your first try. Zutobi’s gamified platform offers an alternative experience to studying the boring driver’s handbook provided by the DMV. With 250,000 active users and counting, you’re in good hands using Zutobi.
A vision test will be assessed at the time of your permit application. You will need to exhibit a vision of 20/40 or better to pass.
At the time of writing, you will be charged a $3 permit fee.
When you’ve completed all of the steps successfully, you will finally receive your Virginia learner’s permit!
Teenage drivers will face certain restrictions during the period of time they hold their permit.
Teenage drivers are prohibited from driving between the times of midnight and 4 AM, except when driving to or from work, school, or a religious event. You may also drive during these hours if you are accompanied by a family member over the age of 18 or you need to operate a motor vehicle in case of emergency.
You may carry only one passenger under the age of 21 years old unless accompanied by a licensed parent. However, three passengers can ride with you if you are traveling to or from school, or a licensed driver over the age of 21 is in the front passenger seat.
No electronics can be used at any time, whether handheld or hands-free.
That’s everything you need to know about getting your learner’s permit in the state of Virginia. If you need any help studying for your upcoming knowledge or driving exams, then Zutobi is the perfect study resource with a summarized handbook, Virginia practice tests, and a gamified learning experience.
550+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Ace your DMV test, guaranteed