Connecticut (CT) Learner's Permit

Connecticut Learner’s Permit: A Complete Guide

Zutobi
by Zutobi · Updated Jul 01, 2021

The first step to your driver’s license is to get a learner’s permit. The permit will give you the chance to practice driving under the supervision of a licensed adult.

Connecticut Learner’s Permit Requirements

In Connecticut, you are able to apply for a learner’s permit at the age of 16. You’ll need to hold the permit for a certain amount of time before you may sit the road test and progress to a full driver’s license. How long you must hold the permit depends on your age and training.

  • 120 days if you are under 18 and you are trained at a driving school.
  • 180 days if you are under 18 and home-trained.
  • 90 days if you are over 18, regardless of training.

How to Get Your Connecticut Learner’s Permit 

To receive your learner’s permit, you need to complete a number of tests, present the proper documentation, and pay the necessary fees. Here is a run-down on what to do:

  1. You will need to schedule an appointment with the Connecticut DMV in order to apply and take the necessary exams. 
  2. On the time and date of your appointment, you will be asked to complete a permit application. A parent or guardian must accompany you to sign the document if you are under 18.
  3. The DMV will require you to present documentation upon arrival: 
  • Proof of birthdate
  • Proof of identity
  • Social security number
  • Proof of citizenship and/or legal presence
  • Proof of Connecticut address
  1. You will be tested on your vision to ensure it’s safe and suitable for operating a motor vehicle. Your vision must be examined at 20/40 or better for you to pass.
  2. You will need to pass the knowledge exam, it is used to test your understanding of important traffic rules and regulations. You will be faced with 25 questions and must answer 20 correctly for a score of 80%. These core driving concepts are covered lightly in the Connecticut Driver’s Manual, however, there are much better ways to learn them. 
  3. At the time of writing, you will be charged a $19 fee for your learner’s permit application. A $40 fee will also be charged to cover your vision, knowledge, and road test.

Zutobi has a ton of engaging study materials that go in-depth to teach you all about operating a motor vehicle and traffic laws in Connecticut. With dozens of practice tests and interactive modules to guide your learning, there’s no way you’ll fail the knowledge exam. Try Zutobi for free today!

Connecticut Learner’s Permit Restrictions 

The state of Connecticut imposes different restrictions on student drivers with a permit depending on their age. 

If you’re 18 or older – you will need to be accompanied by a license driver who is 20 years or older at all times. The permit must be held for 90 days prior to taking the road exam. Additionally, you will be required to take a Safe Driving Practices Course before taking the road exam. After both are completed, you will receive your full driver’s license.

If you’re under 18 – you will be faced with the following restrictions:

  • Cannot travel from 11pm to 5am unless traveling for school, work, or religious activities
  • Cannot drive with another passenger besides a licensed instructor or parent during first six months
  • Can drive with only immediate family members in the second six months
  • Cannot use cellphone or other electronic device while operating

How to Progress to a Driver’s License

To be eligible to progress, you’ll need to satisfy the following requirements:

  • You have held your learner’s permit for the required time (90, 120, or 180 days depending on your age). 
  • If a teen – you’ll have completed at least 40 hours of behind-the-wheel training.
  • If a teen – you have completed the required driver training. This can be either Home Training or training through High School or Commercial Driving School

If you have completed the necessary steps above, you can schedule the road test. The road test will ultimately test you on your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle as well as your control and observance of road conditions. You’ll receive your license upon completion of the road test.

Read more about the Teen License or the Adult License in our in-depth driver’s license article.

That’s It!

That’s all there is to getting a learner’s permit in Connecticut. The process can seem confusing, but it doesn’t have to be as long as you know what you will be getting yourself into.

If you are studying for your upcoming knowledge exam, then Zutobi is the perfect study guide with a summarized handbook, Connecticut practice tests, and a gamified learning experience on web and mobile. We’ll help you pass your exam on the first try. Try it out today.

sudent
Take our full course with tests and theory

550+ exam-like questions

All you need to ace your test

Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens

student image

Ace your DMV test, guaranteed