Getting your Connecticut driver’s license requires quite a few steps – regardless of your age, you will need to successfully complete the Graduated Driver’s License program before gaining full driving privileges. This will allow you to slowly get comfortable with operating a motor vehicle before being able to freely drive throughout the state.
The learner’s permit is the first step to getting your adult driver’s license. In Connecticut, you’re able to get your permit as early as 16 years of age. If you’re 18 or older when you apply, you’ll only need to hold the permit for a limited time (90 days).
To receive your permit, you need to:
If you need help studying for your exam, Zutobi is the way to go. Our study material goes in-depth to teach you all about operating a motor vehicle and traffic laws in Connecticut. You also get dozens of practice tests to make sure there’s no way you’ll fail the knowledge exam.
The state of Connecticut imposes strict restrictions on student drivers under 18 years old with a permit.
If you’re under 18 – you will be faced with the following restrictions:
If you’re over 18, you will need to hold your permit for 90 days and complete a Safe Driving Practices course before taking the road exam. You will then graduate immediately to a full drivers license without having to go through the teen license first.
If you would like to know more about this part of the licensing process, we recommend that you read our in-depth Connecticut learner’s permit guide.
As its name suggests, the teen Connecticut driver’s license is for teenagers 16 years or older looking to get their license. While you have a learner permit, there will be a few things you must do before applying for your teen license.
You’ll need to satisfy the following requirements to be eligible for a teen license.
You will need to schedule and take a road test. The road test will examine your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle in the state of Connecticut. You will be tested on your ability to perform core driving maneuvers such as three-point turns, maintaining a safe following distance, left/right turns, and more. Your test administrator will ultimately test you on your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle as well as your control and observance of road conditions.
On the day of your appointment, you will need to bring the following:
After you passed your exams and provided proper documentation, you will need to pay $72 for your license (at the time of writing), payable by cash, check, or credit/debit card.
You will face the following restrictions:
If you’re under 18 and you’ve made it this far – congratulations! You’ve done everything you need to do in order to get your full driver’s license. When you turn 18, your new license will be mailed directly to you.
New drivers who apply for their license over the age of 18 will need to first obtain a learner’s permit and hold it for 90 days. Then, you’ll be prompted to schedule, take, and pass the road exam. Your license will be mailed to you after successful completion of these tasks.
That’s all there is to getting your driver’s license in Connecticut. We hope this guide has helped you understand the process a little bit better and what to expect. If you need help studying for your upcoming exams, Zutobi is the perfect study guide to help you ace your exams.
550+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Ace your DMV test, guaranteed