Connecticut DMV Practice Test 2022

The Connecticut DMV permit test consists of 25 questions, and you must answer at least 20 questions correctly to get a passing score (80%). The questions in our sample tests are nearly identical to those on the official CT exam.

Not your state?
What to expect on the official CT permit test
Number of questions:
25
Correct answers needed to pass:
20
Passing score:
80%
Minimum age to apply:
16years
Minimum period between attempts:
7days
practice test
Questions

What will happen if you refuse a breath test when an officer suspects you of driving while intoxicated?

display
Your driver license will be suspended
BYou will face imprisonment for up to 5 years
CNothing - the officer cannot require you to submit a breath test

The implied consent law in Connecticut says that by getting behind the wheel, you have already given consent (i.e. answered "yes") to allow a blood, breath, or urine test if requested by a law enforcement officer. Refusing a police breath/chemical test is a serious offense and will result in license suspension.

What is the BAC-limit for drivers that are 21 years old or older?

display
A0.02
B0.05
0.08

Operating a vehicle with a BAC of 0.08 or more is illegal and counts as DUI in Connecticut. You can also be convicted if you are "driving under the influence" of alcohol or drugs, even when your BAC is below the legal limit. The penalty for a first-time conviction is a fine of up to $1,000, up to 6 months in jail, and a license suspension for 45 days.

What is the BAC-limit for drivers under 21 years old?

0.02
B0.05
C0.08

Drivers under 21 face stricter rules than older drivers in Connecticut and may be convicted of a DUI with a blood alcohol concentration of .02 or higher.

When driving at night, you must dim your lights to low-beam when you're within _____ of an oncoming vehicle.

display
500 feet
B700 feet
C1000 feet

High beam headlights will temporarily blind other drivers if used the wrong way. In Connecticut, you are required to dim your light to low beam if (1) within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle or (2) within 300 feet of a vehicle traveling in your direction.

You're driving at night and approaching another vehicle traveling in your direction. When must you dim your lights?

AWithin 200 feet of the vehicle
Within 300 feet of the vehicle
CWithin 400 feet of the vehicle

High beam headlights will temporarily blind other drivers if used the wrong way. In Connecticut, you are required to dim your light to low beam if (1) within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle or (2) within 300 feet of a vehicle traveling in your direction.

You are required to use your headlights in certain conditions. Which of the following is an example of such a condition?

1/2 hour after sunset to 1/2 hour before sunrise
BWhen visibility is less than 1500 ft
COn a clear day in a business district

In Connecticut, you must use your headlights between (1) 1/2 hour after sunset to 1/2 hour before sunrise, (2) when visibility is less than 500 feet, and (3) when in conditions of insufficient light. Also, you're required to dim your lights to low beam when (1) within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle and (2) within 300 feet of a vehicle traveling in your direction.

Is the use of Hazard Lights permitted while driving?

Yes
BNo

Hazard light use is permitted while driving in Connecticut unless otherwise posted

You see that there is a stopped emergency vehicle on the road shoulder ahead,. What should you do?

ACome to a complete stop at least 50 feet from the emergency vehicle
Vacate the lane closest to the emergency vehicle
CTry to pass the emergency vehicle as quickly as possible

The Connecticut move-over-law is designed to protect emergency personnel and workers. If approaching a stationary or slow-moving emergency response vehicle with flashing lights, including utility- and maintenance vehicles and tow trucks, you must slow down to a safe and prudent speed and vacate the lane closest to the stopped vehicle, if possible. If changing lanes is unsafe or not possible, make sure your speed is safe and prudent for the conditions.

What is considered a sufficient following distance on a dry road?

A2 seconds or less
BAt least 3 seconds
At least 4 Seconds

You should always maintain a following distance of at least 4 seconds to the vehicle in front of you according to the "four-second rule" used in Connecticut. In bad conditions and at higher speeds, you should consider increasing the following distance to 5-6 seconds so you have time to safely stop if necessary. On slippery roads, it may be necessary to increase the following distance even more.

What is the standard speed limit in residential areas and central business districts?

A15 mph
25 mph
C45 mph

In Connecticut, the standard speed limit in residential areas and central business districts is 25 mph unless signs indicate otherwise.

When may you turn right on a red light?

AAt all times
Unless signs prohibit
COnly if signs permit

If the turn can be made safely, you may turn right on a red light in Connecticut after coming to a complete stop and yielding to any pedestrians/vehicles lawfully proceeding through the intersection. Look for signs that prohibit the turn.

You're driving at night, and there's a steady stream of oncoming traffic. Which lights should you use?

display
AHigh-beam headlights
Low-beam headlights
CFog lights

As there’s a steady stream of oncoming traffic, you risk blinding them if you use high beams.

It's windy and you're driving close to a truck. Where are strong side winds most likely to occur?

display
ATunnels
BCities
Viaducts & bridges
DUneven roads

Intense and high winds, especially crosswinds, can be dangerous. Large vehicles such as light/high trailers and campers are more affected due to their larger bodies. If you feel that the winds are very strong, slow down to give yourself more time to react.

Be extra careful when driving on viaducts, bridges or open streches of road as they are hot spots for strong winds.

Which of the following is NOT an example of defensive driving?

display
AKeeping enough space between your car and the car in front
BIndicating before changing lanes
CFollowing the right-of-way rules
Keeping a very short following distance

As a driver, you share the roads with drivers of cars and other vehicles, and every person has a place to get to and wants to arrive safely - be courteous and drive with care.

Is there any situation when you do not have to check your blind spot and mirrors before changing lanes?

No
BYes

Changing lanes without checking the blind spot is a common cause of side-swipe accidents. To avoid an accident, always signal, check your mirrors and the blind spot before changing lanes.

When approaching an intersection, you should:

display
APresume that you have the right-of-way
Slow down to an appropriate speed so you can stop if necessary
CHonk your horn to warn of your approach

Always be ready for the unexpected. Some drivers don’t respect the right-of-way, so you may have to yield even if you have the right-of-way. For that reason, it’s important that you slow down enough when approaching an intersection so you can stop if necessary.

You’re driving in extreme fog, and the visibility is so low that you are unable to see more than a couple of feet ahead. What should you do?

ATurn on your high-beam headlights and slow down to a crawl
BTurn on your high-beam headlights, interior lights and parking light to increase visibility
Pull off the road and wait for the fog to clear

Remember that you must never stop on the road in extreme fog - if you decide to stop,  do so COMPLETELY away from traffic. 

What does this hand signal mean?

display
AStopping
BTurning left
Turning right
DSlowing down or stopping

Drivers may have to use hand signals if the vehicle’s signals are broken or not working properly. 

This hand signal means that the driver is about to turn right.

You've notified the emergency services about a crash scene where there's a badly wounded motorcyclist. What should you do next?

display
Check if his/her airway is open
BNothing, wait for the emergency services to arrive
CCheck if he/she is bleeding or has any bruises
DLook for any witnesses

Breathing is the first thing you need to check if you notice that a person is unconscious. Look and listen for breathing, look for chest movements, and feel for breath on your cheek.

How can you brake using your vehicle’s engine?

display
By using a lower gear
BBy using a higher gear
CBy selecting neutral gear

When driving downhill, selecting a lower gear gives increased engine braking. By engine braking, you prevent overheating the brakes.

By using neutral gear, you will pick up speed as your vehicle doesn’t engine brake at all. If you don’t let the engine share the work, you risk overheating your brakes which can be very dangerous.

Is the Connecticut Permit Test Hard?

It can be, but only if you’re not fully prepared. Zutobi offers Connecticut permit practice tests with questions taken from previous and current permit tests. With these questions, and the other material offered in our driving course to help you study, the written test will be easier than you think!

Ace Your Connecticut Permit Test With Zutobi

We exist for one purpose - to help you ace your Connecticut permit test the first time you take it. Here’s how Zutobi can help.

  • Leave the Connecticut driver’s manual in the rearview and earn a passing score on your permit test the fun way.
  • Learn everything you need to know in order to pass your permit test, like road signs, traffic laws, and driving techniques like the proper way to park a car.
  • Test what you think you already know with our Connecticut DMV permit practice tests. Check your answers and learn from your mistakes with the answers and explanations we provide for every multiple choice question.

Try Our FREE Connecticut DMV Permit Practice Test

Try your hand at our free Connecticut DMV permit practice test today! Each question is followed by a detailed explanation so you’ll instantly know what you did wrong or right. If you don’t do as well as you hoped, we can help you out.

Ace your DMV test, guaranteed