Connecticut_Road_Test

How to Pass Your Connecticut Road Test: The Ultimate Guide

Zutobi
by Zutobi · Updated Sep 13, 2021

Is it time for you to get your driver’s license? The Connecticut road test is one of the few exams that stands between you and the freedom to operate a motor vehicle in the state. 

But there’s no need to worry, we will go through everything you need to know to pass your driving test on the first try. 

Before Taking the Connecticut Road Test

You can’t just walk in and take the road test. In addition to a scheduled appointment, there are several steps you’ll need to take beforehand in order to avoid confusion at the DMV.

1 – Safe Driving Practices Course

If it is your first time getting a driver’s license, you will be required to take an eight hour Safe Driving Practices class that will highlight the best ways to keep yourself secure on the road. Your chosen Safe Driving Course must include:

  • Issues of alcohol and drug abuse and the penalties for alcohol and drug-related 
  • Nature and the medical, biological, and physiological effects of alcohol and drugs, and their impact on the operator of a motor vehicle
  • Dangers associated with operating a motor vehicle after excessive drug or alcohol consumption
  • 2-hour mandatory parent training, if the applicant is under 18

The course is offered at both secondary and commercial schools. Secondary schools require students to be a resident or property owner in that specific town or district, while commercial schools are open to the public. After successful completion of the course, your institution will grant you Form CS-1, which will act as proof of completion.

2 – Written Exam

The written test is another exam that you’ll need to take before the road test. You will be tested on various road signs and traffic laws across the state of Connecticut. It contains 25 questions and you must score at least 80% or better to pass. This is equivalent to 20 questions answered correctly. 

3 – Learner/Teen Permit

Regardless of your age, you’ll need to hold a driver’s permit in order to take the driving test in Connecticut. Adults will be required to hold a permit for 90 days, while teenagers will need to hold their permit for 120 or 180 days, depending on their age. After the holding period has passed, you will be allowed to schedule and take the driving exam.

Exceptions to Prerequisites

If you are a new resident of the state of Connecticut and are seeking a license in the state, you will not be required to complete the above prerequisites. As long as you possess an out-of-state license that has not expired for more than 2 years, you will be eligible to take the road test immediately. All you’ll need to do is schedule an appointment and bring the necessary documentation, including your current driver’s license. No walk-in tests are allowed. 

Getting Your Car Ready for the Connecticut Road Test

You will need to provide your own car for the road test. After scheduling a testing appointment, be sure to acquire a vehicle and review it to make sure it is mechanically safe. In addition to checking for valid registration and insurance documents, your test administrator will inspect your vehicle to make sure it meets certain requirements. 

Your vehicle will be turned away if any of the following are observed:

  • Illegal tint
  • Missing lug nuts
  • Worn or damaged tires
  • Defective brake lights
  • Cracked or damaged windows/windshields
  • Defective seat belts
  • Defective speedometer
  • Defective braking system
  • Safety warning indicator lights on dashboard
  • Other defective equipment

What to Bring to the Test

Like all visits to the CT DMV, you’ll need to bring certain paperwork to the office before being allowed to take the road exam. As a US citizen, you need to provide an application form, a vehicle with valid insurance and registration, your road test appointment confirmation, a Form-CS1 certificate, and a valid learner’s permit. You’ll also pay a $40 fee at the time of your exam. 

What to Expect During the Connecticut Driving Test

It is absolutely important to attend your appointment on time. If possible, it’s good practice to show up even fifteen minutes early to ensure to avoid any hiccups. If you are late, you may be asked to reschedule your exam. Teenage drivers will need to be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian so they can sign off confirming the completion of all driver education and practice requirements. 

You will be tested on various driving skills and your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle in the state of Connecticut. Here is what the road test evaluates:

  • Safe condition of the vehicle used in the exam
  • Ability to properly adjust seat, mirror, and seat belts
  • Response to traffic control signs and signals, signaling, road markings, and interactions with other cyclists
  • Proficiency in basic driving skills such as turns, reversing, and parking
  • Knowledge of common phrases such as ‘Stop’, ‘Continue Straight’, ‘Step On Your Brake’, and more
  • Other driving maneuvers as instructed by your test administrators

After Your Connecticut Driving Test

If you passed your road test, congratulations! You’ll be required to turn in your learner’s permit or out of state driver’s license. Your fee for the road test will be paid at the time of the knowledge test, so you won’t need to pay on site.Your permanent license card will  be sent to your address on file. 

If You Fail Your Test

If you fail your exam – there’s no need to worry. Be sure to listen closely to what your examiner says you may have done incorrectly. In Connecticut, you must wait 14 days before you’ll be able to schedule the road test again.

That’s it!

That’s all there is to passing the road test in Connecticut. It can be a daunting experience if you’re doing it for the first time. However, we hope this guide has helped you. Be sure to practice early and often and do not hesitate to reference this guide if you need some extra assistance!

Take our full course with tests and theory

550+ exam-like questions

All you need to ace your test

Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens

cloud
town
student image

Could you ace your DMV test?