Delaware Driver's License Renewal

Delaware Driver’s License Renewal: A Complete Guide

Zutobi
by Zutobi · Updated May 17, 2021

Are you ready to renew your Delaware driver’s license? If so, this handy guide may be well worth a read. We’ve condensed all of the important information into a single page so you know the different options you have and the steps you need to complete. 

When Do I Need to Renew My Driver’s License in Delaware?

Your license is valid for eight years. You can renew up to six months before it expires. The DMV will send you a courtesy message about 60 days before your license expires.

If you do not renew on time, the DMV charges an additional $10 late fee.

What is the Grace Period in Delaware?

Delaware does not have a grace period for driving with an expired license. If you are caught driving without a valid license, it is a misdemeanor. The first offense is punishable with a $50 to $200 fine. In case of a second violation, you could face a $100 to $500 fine plus up to six months in jail!

How to Renew a Delaware Driver’s License

Drivers in Delaware can either choose to renew their license online or in person. However depending on the option you choose, there will be different requirements and processes.

Renewal Online

You may qualify to renew online if:

  • You are a US citizen
  • All your information is up-to-date with the DMV
  • You did not renew online last time
  • Your license is not suspended or revoked

To renew online, you’ll need to create and log-in to a myDMV account from the official Delaware DMV site. Then you need to follow these steps: 

  1. Sign up for a myDMV account if you do not already have one. You will need:
    1. Your license number
    2. Your birth date
    3. Your Social Security Number
    4. A valid email address

If you do not receive an account activation email from the DMV within 72 hours, send your email address and username to dmvcustomerservice@delaware.gov

  1. Log into your My Account Services page and select the option to renew a driver’s license
  2. Verify all your information is correct
  3. Pay the required renewal fee
  4. Print out your temporary paper license. Your physical license will be mailed to your residential address within two weeks.

How to Renew in Person

You will need to renew in person if:

  • You are not a US citizen
  • If you need to upgrade to a REAL-ID
  • You need to update any of your information
  • You renewed online last time
  • If you also need to reinstate your license
  1. Check your record on the myDMV service portal. If you do not have a myDMV account, you will need to register first. To do so, you will need:
    1. Your license number
    2. Your birth date
    3. Your Social Security Number
    4. A valid email address

If you do not receive an account activation email from the DMV within 72 hours, send your email address and username to dmvcustomerservice@delaware.gov

  1. Locate a DMV office local to you. You can not book an appointment in advance. You can check Delaware DMV location wait times before you go.
  2. Collect your documents. 
    1. If you changed your name or residency, you will need to provide proof
    2. If you are renewing or upgrading to a REAL-ID, you will need to bring the appropriate documents.
    3. Download and fill out a renewal form from the myDMV account site to speed up the process.
  3. Take a vision exam
  4. If applicable, take the written and/or vision exam if requested by your examiner.
  5. Pay the appropriate fees
  6. Receive a temporary paper license. You will receive a physical copy at your residential address within two weeks. If you want to check the status of your license, you can do so here.

Note: You can not renew your driver’s licence if you accumulated enough points to have your license suspended or revoked

What If I Am Upgrading to a REAL-ID?

If you’re going to upgrade to a real-ID, you’ll need to have on you a variety of documentation, including;

  • Proof of identity/presence,
  • Proof of SSN,
  • Proof of Delaware residency, of which you must have two proving documents,
  • Proof of citizenship or immigrant status.

How Much Does it Cost to Renew a Driver’s License in Delaware?

At the time of writing, the driver’s license renewal fee in Delaware is $40. If your license is expired, it will be an additional $10. We recommend that you check the latest fees at the DMV website since they are subject to change. 

You can pay by cash, check, money order, and most debit/credit cards such as VISA, American Express, Mastercard, and Discover.

If you pay by personal check but the DMV can not collect the fee, there will be another $25 penalty fee. All fees plus the penalty fee must be paid within 10 days or your license will be suspended.

Do I Need a REAL-ID in Delaware?

It depends! Starting May 3, 2023, a standard driver’s license will not qualify as your federal ID. If you plan to board a domestic plane or enter a US military base (or various other government facilities), you will need a federally approved ID to do so. You can use a passport or other federal ID, but a REAL-ID can be a handy alternative.

That’s It

That’s everything you need to know about renewing your driver’s license in Delaware, make sure to do so well before your license expires to avoid unnecessary complications. If you need help studying for renewal exams, then Zutobi is the perfect study resource with state-of-the-art refresher exams.

Take our full course with tests and theory

600+ exam-like questions

All you need to ace your test

Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens

cloud
town
student image

Could you ace your DMV test?