Delaware DMV Practice Test 2024

The Delaware DMV permit test consists of 30 questions, and you must answer at least 24 questions correctly to get a passing score (80%). The questions in our sample tests are nearly identical to those on the official DE exam.

Not your state?
What to expect on the official DE permit test
Number of questions:
Correct answers needed to pass:
Passing score:
Minimum age to apply:
Length of test:
Minimum period between attempts:
practice test

What will happen if you refuse a breath test when an officer suspects you of driving while intoxicated?


The implied consent law in Delaware says that by getting behind the wheel, you have already given consent (i.e. answered "yes") to allow a blood, breath, or urine test if requested by a law enforcement officer. Refusing a police breath/chemical test is a serious offense and will result in license suspension.

What is the BAC-limit for drivers that are 21 years old or older?


Operating a vehicle with a BAC of 0.08 or more is illegal in Delaware and counts as DUI. You can also be convicted if you are "driving under the influence" of alcohol or drugs, even when your BAC is below the legal limit. The penalty for a first-time conviction is a fine of up to $1,500, up to 12 months in jail, and a license revocation for 12-24 months depending on your BAC.

What is the BAC-limit for drivers under 21 years old?

Drivers under 21 have a zero-tolerance on alcohol in Delaware. This means they must not drive with any alcohol in their system!

When driving at night, you must dim your lights to low-beam when you're within _____ of an oncoming vehicle.


High beam headlights will temporarily blind other drivers if used the wrong way. In Delaware, you are required to dim your light to low beam if (1) within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle or (2) within 200 feet of a vehicle traveling in your direction.

You're driving at night and approaching another vehicle traveling in your direction. When must you dim your lights?

High beam headlights will temporarily blind other drivers if used the wrong way. In Delaware, you are required to dim your light to low beam if (1) within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle or (2) within 200 feet of a vehicle traveling in your direction.

You are required to use your headlights in certain conditions. Which of the following is an example of such a condition?

In Delaware, you must use your headlights between (1) sunset and sunrise, (2) when visibility is less than 1000 feet and (3) when windshield wipers are in use. Also, you're required to dim your lights to low beam when (1) within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle and (2) within 200 feet of a vehicle traveling in your direction.

Is the use of Hazard Lights permitted while driving?

Hazard light use is not permitted while driving in Delaware, except for the purpose of indicating a traffic hazard.

You see that there is a stopped emergency vehicle on the road shoulder ahead,. What should you do?

The Delaware move-over-law is designed to protect emergency personnel and workers. If approaching a stationary emergency vehicle with flashing lights, including tow trucks and public utility vehicles, you must slow down and vacate the lane closest to the stopped vehicle. If changing lanes is unsafe or not possible, you must slow down to a safe and prudent speed for the conditions.

What is considered a sufficient following distance on a dry road?

You should always maintain a following distance of at least 3 seconds to the vehicle in front of you according to the "three-second rule" used in Delaware. In bad conditions and at higher speeds, you should consider increasing the following distance to 4-5 seconds so you have time to safely stop if necessary. On slippery roads, it may be necessary to increase the following distance even more.

What is the standard speed limit in business and residential districts?

In Delaware, the standard speed limit in business and residential districts is 25 mph unless signs indicate otherwise.

What is the standard maximum speed limit in school zones, unless otherwise posted?

Signs will be posted indicating when the school speed limit is active. Be extremely careful close to schools as children are unpredictable and may cross the road without warning. The penalties for drivers not following the school speed limit are severe in Delaware.

What does this sign mean?


This sign indicates the recommended speed in good conditions. Consider slowing down even more in poor weather conditions.

You reduce your speed from 50 mph to 25 mph. How will this affect the braking distance?

If you doubled your speed, the braking distance would be 4 times longer. This also means that if you halved your speed, the braking distance would be ¼ compared to before.

What style of driving decreases the risk(s) related to driving for all road users?


Defensive driving is about trying to anticipate and be prepared for any potential hazards.

Competitive and aggressive driving are the opposite of defensive driving and will increase the risk(s) for all road users

What does this sign mean?


This sign tells you that there is an airport in the area.

How should you act if you’re hydroplaning?


Don’t brake hard, accelerate, or let go of the steering wheel! Keep calm, maintain a firm grip on the steering wheel, ease off the gas, and avoid quick or jerky movements. 

Remember that high speeds, poor tire tread depth, and under-inflated tires will increase the risk of hydroplaning. 

You are on a medication that has a warning label saying ‘do not drive’. What does that mean?


Medicines can affect your concentration, coordination, mood, and reactions. The label says ‘do not drive’ for a reason.

Does your weight affect your BAC level?


Different persons will reach different BAC even though they drink the same amount. There are a number of factors that will affect your BAC including the type of alcohol you consume, how long since you’ve had your last meal, your body size and your gender.

Which statement is true regarding experienced and inexperienced drivers?


Instead of focusing on the surroundings, inexperienced drivers tend to focus on stationary objects that aren’t dangerous, and too much on the car in front. The more you drive, the better a driver you will become.

What does this hand-signal indicate? The driver is _____.


Drivers may have to use hand signals if the vehicle’s signals are broken or not working properly. 

This hand signal means that the driver is indicating a left turn - slow down and be prepared to stop.

Is the Delaware Permit Test Hard?

Like any exam, that depends on how prepared you are for it. However, with Zutobi, 95% of our customers report a passing score on their first try. In comparison, less than 50% of people overall pass their permit tests on their first attempt.

Ace Your Delaware Permit Test With Zutobi

Along with challenging your friends and earning points on our different learning levels, the following features can help you pass your Delaware permit test on your first try.

  • Our entertaining approach to learning to drive will have you forgetting all about the boring Delaware driver’s manual.
  • Our material covers all of the information you need to know in order to pass your permit test; from road signs and their meanings, to vehicle rules and traffic laws, to what the heck a no-zone is.
  • Test yourself with our Delaware practice tests that are specifically designed to simulate the real Delaware written test.
  • Learn from your mistakes with the answers and explanations that are provided for every multiple choice question on our practice exams.

Try Our FREE Delaware Practice Permit Test

You can test your knowledge with our free Delaware practice permit test. Then, sign up to our course to learn all there is to know about driving in Delaware… and be on your way to a passing score and a brand-new learner’s permit.

Ace your DMV test, guaranteed