Getting a Maryland MVA Learners Permit: Rules and Requirements

Getting a Maryland MVA Learners Permit: Rules and Requirements

by Zutobi · Updated Mar 25, 2021

If you’re looking to get your Maryland learner’s permit, you’ve come to the right place. In this guide, we’ll cover everything you need to know about your permit, including how to study for the necessary tests.

A Learner’s Permit is Mandatory in Maryland

Every first-time driver is required to start with a learner’s permit in the state of Maryland, regardless of age. You must be at least 15 years and 9 months old to apply for your permit. You will need to bring proof of identity, your Social Security Number, and proof of residency to your local MVA office to get started. You will also be required to take and pass a knowledge test and vision exam. 

In addition, while you hold the permit, you are required to take an MVA-certified Driver’s Education Program. However, the time you must hold your permit, and the number of practice hours you need to accumulate, all depend on your age.

  • If you are under age 16, you need to submit a Form DL-300 to show you are attending school with minimal absences. Otherwise, the process stays the same for applicants under 18.
  • If you are under 18, you will also need to have your parents co-sign your application. 

The Written Knowledge Test

The knowledge test covers the laws and safety regulations outlined in the Maryland MVD Handbook. It will have 25 questions on it, and you have to get 22 right to pass.

The written test is one of the hardest parts of getting your Maryland learner’s permit with over a 50% failure rate nation-wide, so we recommend that you study with a proper study resource. That’s where Zutobi comes in – we make studying for your test easy with our summarized driver’s handbook, up-to-date MVA practice tests, and gamified learning experience. There’s a reason 95% of our students pass on their 1st try.

MVA Learner’s Permit Restrictions

  • You must drive with a supervising driver and log those hours.
  • If you are under 18, you must hold your permit for 9 months without any traffic violations to progress to the next stage. In addition, you need to accumulate 60 practice hours of which 10 of those hours need to happen at night.
  • If you are 18 with a diploma OR ages 19-24, you will submit proof of graduation, but the process otherwise remains the same as for those under 18. You will need to hold your permit for a minimum of 3 months without any traffic violations before you can move to the next stage, and you will need to log 60 practice hours of which 10 of those hours need to happen at night.
  • If you are over 25 years old, you must hold your permit for at least 45 days without a traffic violation before you can move onto the next stage. In addition, you only need to accumulate 14 practice hours with a supervising driver. Three of those hours must be at night.

No matter what age you are, if you are convicted of a traffic violation, you must hold your permit nine additional months after the hearing date or after a suspension ends, if applicable.

Requirements to Progress to a Provisional License

Before you can apply for a provisional license, you have to meet these requirements.

  1. Be at least 16 years and 6 months.
  2. Pass a Maryland MVA driver education course.
  3. Practice skills log completed and signed by a supervising driver.

That’s It!

That’s everything you need to know about getting your learner’s permit in Maryland. If you need any help studying for your upcoming knowledge or driving exams, then Zutobi is the perfect study resource with a summarized handbook, Maryland practice tests, and a gamified learning experience.

Take our full course with tests and theory

550+ exam-like questions

All you need to ace your test

Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens

cloud
town