For this article, we are going to focus on the Maryland provisional license and assume you already have a learner’s permit. Otherwise, we recommend you to read this guide.
So, let us break down everything you need to know about the MD provisional license.
The provisional driver’s license is the second step on the way to receiving a full driver’s license. You will receive your license after you have completed all the qualifying requirements detailed below.
These rules and restrictions last for some time before you are entrusted with all the rights and responsibilities of a full Maryland license.
The MD provisional license expires automatically and depends on your age.
There are certain instances other than being a new driver that you will need to apply for a provisional license. The following 3 types of drivers will need to obtain one before moving to the next step in the licensing process.
You can apply for a provisional license through the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration. On this website, you will find all the information you need including the locations of every MVA office throughout the state.
Before you apply for a provisional license, you have to satisfy the following 4 requirements.
The practice skills log is a document that details 60 hours of supervised driving for any provisional license applicant. The supervised driving required to complete the practice skills log must be conducted with a qualifying licensed driver. This could be a parent, guardian, or professional driving instructor.
Out of the 60 hours, 10 of those hours must be completed at night. New drivers should have practice driving at night, at dawn, and dusk. These 10 hours need to be recorded between the hours of 30 minutes before sunset and 30 minutes after sunrise.
To be a qualified supervising driver there are 3 main requirements.
If you are driving in the state of Maryland with a provisional driver’s license, there are a few additional rules and restrictions you need to be made aware of.
If you are under the age of 18, there is a driving curfew that is strictly enforced. Provisional license holders under the age of 18 are not allowed to drive between the hours of midnight and 5 am.
Additionally, it is an excellent idea for all drivers to never use their cell phone while driving, however, if you are under the age of 18, it is strictly forbidden.
There are 5 exceptions to the restrictions.
The conditions of this curfew do not apply to any driver over the age of 18. Drivers over the age of 18 are allowed to drive at any hour.
Also, if you are a driver under the age of 18, you are not permitted to have any passengers in your car under the age of 18 (unless they are a family member).
Every driver, no matter if they are on a provisional license or a regular license, must obey all the rules of the road. The main difference is there are additional consequences for moving violations if you are driving with a provisional license.
If you are convicted of a moving violation while driving with a provisional license, not only will you be subject to the normal fines and consequences, you will face additional sanctions on your license. Additionally, the waiting period before you can get your full driver’s license will reset.
These are the additional consequences you can expect for each moving violation.
According to MAIF Insurance, you are required to drive with a provisional license for a minimum of 18 months without any moving violations. If you receive a moving violation, your 18 months will reset.
Your license will be automatically upgraded after the 18 months have been completed.
You may be thinking to yourself right now that the process to obtain a provisional license is overly complicated and unnecessary. Why don’t I just get a regular driver’s license when I turn 16 like back in the good old days?
The state of Maryland wants all drivers to be experienced, safe, and in full compliance with the law in an effort to minimize traffic fatalities on Maryland roadways. So this process is to protect you as well as other drivers.
According to the U.S. Department of Transportation’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System, the State of Maryland had 501 traffic fatalities in 2018 and that number only increased in 2019. Accidents are inevitable; however, a well-maintained Graduated Licensing Program will keep those deaths to a minimum.
In Maryland, the rules are different if you are over the age of 25. If you have never had a license before, you still need to obtain a learner’s permit.
If you have never received a moving violation, you are eligible to take a Skills Driving Test after you have been driving under your permit for 45-days.
During those 45-days you must complete the following requirements.