Minnesota Drivers License

How to Get a Minnesota Driver’s License: Requirements and Application

Zutobi
by Zutobi · Updated Apr 30, 2021

There are several steps toward getting your Minnesota driver’s license. Like  many states, Minnesota sends young drivers through their version of the Graduated Drivers License program in order to slowly introduce them to safely operating a motor vehicle. 

This guide will show you everything you need to know about how to get your driver’s license in Minnesota, whether you’re a teen or adult.

Instruction Permit 

The instruction permit is the first part of the graduated drivers license program. In Minnesota, drivers are eligible to obtain their permit as young as 15, however, you’ll be eligible for driver’s education at age 14. 

How to Get a Minnesota Instruction Permit

Besides satisfying the permit requirements, you will need to complete the following steps:

  1. Complete Driver Education

Driver’s education is required to receive your permit. Many public high schools offer driver’s education programs, or you can opt to take a course at one of the many approved schools across the state. You will be required to receive at least 15 out of 30 of these hours before applying for the permit. Those who’ve completed the full 30 hours will receive a blue card upon completion, while those who’ve only completed half will receive a pink card.

  1. Visit Driver Exam Station

You will need to visit one of the state’s many driver exam stations with your parent or legal guardian in order to take exams and choose your type of license – whether it’s a standard, enhanced, or REAL ID. 

  1. Bring Required Documents

For the state’s record, you will need to bring certain documents. They are as follows:

  • Proof of identification 
  • Proof of social security
  • Proof of Minnesota address (2)
  1. Pass Vision Test

The state tests your vision to ensure you will not pose a hazard to yourself or other drivers while on the road. To pass, you’ll need to exhibit vision of 20/40 or better.

  1. Pass Knowledge Test

Passing the written knowledge test is one of the hardest parts of the Minnesota driver’s license process. Because of this, it can be incredibly nerve wracking for many new drivers. You’ll be tested on core driving concepts, as well as your knowledge of traffic laws throughout the state. 

While it may seem difficult – it doesn’t have to be! Zutobi has dozens of interactive learning modules, as well as practice tests that are nearly identical to the real exam. With 250,000 active users, Zutobi is quickly becoming every new drivers’ first choice when looking for a study guide for the written test. Try Zutobi for free today!

  1. Pay Permit Fee

At the time of writing, the instruction permit fee in Minnesota is $13.25 payable by check, money order, or cash. 

Permit Restrictions 

You will not be able to drive without a licensed adult who is 21 years of age or older. You will need to practice with this individual for 50 hours, including 15 hours of night driving, in order to move on to your provisional license.

Provisional Driver’s License

The Minnesota provisional license is the second step of the graduated license program for teens.  After you have fully completed driver’s education and held your permit for six months, you will be eligible to apply. 

The steps to gaining one are simple – you must:

  1. Schedule Road Test. You must schedule a road test with the Minnesota DMV in order to be able to take one. Walk-ins are not allowed. You must bring a parent or legal guardian with you in order to verify and sign off on your application documents. 
  2. Bring Necessary Documents. At your appointment, you will be asked to present your instruction permit, proof of completion of driver education, your supervised driving log, as well as your vehicle registration and insurance. 
  3. Pass Road Test.  The Minnesota road test will examine your ability to safely perform driving maneuvers such as parking, left/right hand turns, changing lanes, and more. You will be graded on vehicle control, driving performance, and your knowledge of vehicle safety equipment.
  4. Pay Fee. $16.25 will be charged at the time of your application. An enhanced driver’s license will cost $15 extra.

Provisional License Restrictions 

While a provisional driver’s license has fewer restrictions than a permit, you will still need to abide by the following:

  • You must drive with a seat belt at all times
  • No electronics are permitted to be used while operating
  • For the first six months, only one passenger under 20 is permitted as a passenger
  • In the second six months and beyond, 3 passengers under 20 are permitted to accompany as a passenger

After holding your provisional license for 12 months without any alcohol or controlled substance violations, you will be allowed to upgrade to a full Minnesota driver’s license. Also; you may not have more than one moving violation that is not related to a crash. 

Minnesota Driver’s License

If you’ve completed the GDL, you’ll be able to get your full adult drivers license for 12 months. 

If not, you’ll first need to first fill out a pre application, indicating whether you’d prefer to receive a standard, enhanced, or REAL ID. You will also need to schedule an appointment to take your road and written exams.

On the day of your appointment, you will need to bring documentation, such as proof of social security and proof of identity.  You will then be prompted to take the vision, knowledge, and road exams designed to test your ability and understanding of core driving concepts. 

That’s It!

That’s all you need to know about getting your driver’s license in the state of Minnesota! We hope this guide has helped you out and that you now know what to expect during the licensing process. If you need help studying for your upcoming exams, well then Zutobi is the perfect study guide.

sudent
Take our full course with tests and theory

550+ exam-like questions

All you need to ace your test

Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens

student image

Ace your DMV test, guaranteed