Getting Your Minnesota Instruction Permit: A Complete Guide
Minnesota instruction permit

Getting Your Minnesota Instruction Permit: A Complete Guide

Zutobi
by Zutobi · Updated Dec 17, 2021

Is it time for you to get your Minnesota instruction permit? If so, you’ve come to the right place. We will go through all of the requirements you need to know as well as a step-by-step guide on how to complete the process.

Minnesota Instruction Permit Requirements

In Minnesota, drivers are eligible to obtain their permit as young as 15. However, you’ll be eligible for driver’s education at age 14. Many public high schools offer driver’s education programs, or you can opt to take a course at one of the many approved schools across the state. You will be required to receive at least 15 out of 30 of these hours before applying for the permit. Those who’ve completed the full 30 hours will receive a blue card upon completion, while those who’ve only completed half will receive a pink card.

How to Get an Instruction Permit in Minnesota

  1. Complete Driver Education
  1. Gather Required Documentation

For your application to be approved, you will need to bring certain documents:

  • Proof of identification 
  • Proof of social security
  • Proof of Minnesota address (2)
  1. Visit a Driver Exam Station

After you have all your documents in order, you will need to visit one of the state’s many driver exam stations with your parent or legal guardian in order to take exams and apply for a permit.

  1. Pass the Vision Test

Your vision is tested to ensure that you will not pose a hazard to yourself or other drivers while on the road. To pass, you’ll need to exhibit a vision of 20/40 or better.

  1. Pass the Knowledge Test

Passing the written knowledge test is one of the hardest parts of the Minnesota driver’s permit process, and it can be incredibly nerve-wracking for many new drivers. You’ll be tested on core driving concepts, as well as your knowledge of traffic laws throughout the state. 

While it may seem difficult – it doesn’t have to be! Zutobi has dozens of interactive learning modules, as well as online practice tests that are nearly identical to the real exam. Try Zutobi for today!

  1. Pay the Permit Fee

At the time of writing, the instruction permit fee in Minnesota is $13.25 payable by check, money order, or cash. 

Permit Restrictions 

  • You must always drive with a licensed adult who is 21 years of age or older.
  • All vehicle occupants must use seatbelts at all times.
  • Cell phone use, including hands free devices, is strictly prohibited.

How to Proceed to the Next License

You will need to log 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice, including 15 hours at night. In addition to this, you must hold your permit for at least six months and be at least 16 years old when applying for your provisional license.

If you satisfy the requirements above, you can schedule an appointment with that Minnesota DMV in order to take your road test.

student
Take our full course with tests and theory

550+ exam-like questions

All you need to ace your test

Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens

student image

Ace your DMV test, guaranteed