North Carolina DMV Permit Practice Test 2022

The North Carolina DMV permit test consists of 25 questions, and you must answer at least 20 questions correctly to get a passing score (80%). The questions in our sample tests are nearly identical to those on the official NC exam.

Not your state?
What to expect on the official NC permit test
Number of questions:
25
Correct answers needed to pass:
20
Passing score:
80%
Minimum age to apply:
15years
Length of test:
25min
Minimum period between attempts:
1day
practice test
Questions

When facing a green light at an intersection, you may proceed:

After yielding to traffic already in the intersection
BWithout yielding to traffic already in the intersection

Before proceeding at an intersection, you're always required to yield to traffic already in the intersection. This applies even if you're facing a green light.

What can you be charged with for leaving the scene of a crash resulting in serious bodily injury or death?

Class F Felony
BClass H Felony
CClass 1 Misdemeanor

Drivers convicted of leaving a crash scene resulting in death or personal injury will be charged with a Class F felony. A Class F felony in North Carolina is punishable by imprisonment for up to 7 years and expensive fines.

What information should you exchange with other involved parties in a car accident?

Name, address, driver's license information, insurance information and phone number
BYour name only
CYou should not give out any information except to law enforcement

Exchange your name, address, driver's license information, insurance information and phone number with anyone else involved in the crash. After exchanging information, write down as much information about the crash as possible. This includes weather conditions, road conditions, time of the crash, and how the crash occurred. This will help determine who is at fault and help with insurance claims. Crashes in North Carolina must be immediately reported in incidents of injury, fatality, or vehicle- or property damage exceeding $1,000.

When may you turn right on a red light?

AAt all times
Unless signs prohibit
COnly if signs permit

If the turn can be made safely, you may turn right on a red light in North Carolina after coming to a complete stop and yielding to any pedestrians/vehicles lawfully proceeding through the intersection. Look for signs that prohibit the turn.

What should you do if you crash into an unattended vehicle and you're unable to locate the owner?

AWait until the owner shows up
BLeave the scene
Leave a note with all the necessary details

If you crash into an unattended vehicle, you're expected to make a reasonable attempt to locate the owner of the vehicle. If unable to locate the owner, you should instead leave a note in a secure place with your contact information and details regarding the crash. In additon, you should take pictures of the scene (including damage to the other car and their license plate number), and notify your insurance company as well as the nearest police department about the accident. Crashes in North Carolina must be immediately reported in incidents of injury, fatality, or vehicle- or property damage exceeding $1,000.

How far away from a school bus loading or unloading passengers do vehicles have to stop?

display
Before reaching the school bus
B10 feet
C15 feet
D20 feet

In North Carolina, drivers from both directions have to stop for school buses loading or unloading passengers. School buses use a mechanical stop arm and flashing red lights to indicate that the bus is stopped to load or unload school children. Do not proceed until the school bus has started driving again, the lights have stopped flashing and the stop arm has been retracted. A stop is not required when driving on the opposite side of a highway with four or more lanes with a median separation, or a roadway with four or more lanes with a center turn lane.

Are headsets or earplugs prohibited while driving?

AYes
No

In North Carolina, there is no prohibition on wearing headsets while driving. However, you should be very careful about covering your ears entirely as you will miss the visual queues otherwise present in the road environment.

When may you turn left on a red light?

AFrom a one-way street onto another one-way street
BFrom a two-way street onto another two-way street
Never

Many states allow drivers to turn left from a one-way street onto another one-way street, but that is not the case in North Carolina. In North Carolina, you must not turn left on red under any circumstances.

For how long must you signal before turning or stopping at speeds of 45 mph or less?

At least 100 feet
BAt least 200 feet
CAt least 350 feet

Other drivers need to know what you're planning to do - so North Carolina law requires that drivers signal for at least 100 feet before turning or stopping when driving 45 mph or less. If the speed limit is more than 45 mph, signal for at least 200 feet.

Why must you be prepared to stop when driving behind a school bus and approaching a railroad crossing?

ABecause buses usually get stuck on the railroad tracks
Because school buses must stop before crossing the tracks
CBecause buses are prohibited from crossing railroad tracks

School & activity buses, vehicles carrying passengers for hire, any vehicle with a capacity for at least 16 persons, and vehicles transporting hazardous material must stop at all railroad crossings in North Carolina. If you are driving behind any of these vehicles, you should be prepared to stop as well.

Texting while driving is:

display
ANot recommended, but legal
Illegal

Texting while driving is prohibited for all drivers in North Carolina. This is because any such use will severely distract you and increase the risk of a crash. In addition, school bus drivers and novice drivers under 18 are prohibited from any use of a cell phone while driving. Regardless of age, drivers are recommended to pull off the road and stop if they need to make a call. Never use a phone when driving in hazardous conditions as you must focus all your attention on driving.

What is the standard maximum speed limit outside of cities and towns?

55 mph
B60 mph
C70 mph

The maximum speed limit outside cities and towns in North Carolina is 55 mph. However, there may be other posted speed limits that you have to follow. On interstates, the speed limit is usually 70 mph.

You see a sign with this shape - can you tell what kind of sign it is?

display
ARailroad crossing sign
B‘No Passing Zone’ sign
CRegulatory sign
Warning sign

Warning signs are shaped like a diamond. When you see a warning sign, slow down and be prepared for hazardous conditions ahead.

Do you have to signal when turning left or right at an intersection?

display
ASignaling is only necessary when turning left
Yes
CNo

Always signal when turning, regardless of the direction. If you don’t, you may catch other road users off guard and cause a crash.

Is parking permitted here at 9am on a Tuesday?

display
Yes, you can park for up to 2 hours
BYes, you can park for up to 20 minutes
CYes, for as long as you want
DNo

The sign indicates that time restrictions apply when parking. In this case, you may park for up to 2 hours between 8:30am - 5:30pm.

If you can’t see the truck driver in the truck’s side mirror, the truck driver ____.

Can’t see you either
BWill still most likely see you due to having larger mirrors

In general, if you’re unable to see truck drivers in their side mirror, the truck drivers won’t be able to see you either.

On windy days, you should allow extra space when passing a motorcyclist or cyclist. Why is that?

display
A sudden gust of wind may blow the rider across in front of you
BThe rider may brake suddenly
CThe rider may be traveling faster than usual

High winds may force a motorcyclist or cyclist to swerve or wobble. Be aware of this when driving near or passing them.

If you are shielded from the wind by trees or houses, you can look at nearby trees or flagpoles to get an indication of how heavy the wind is.

What does this sign mean?

display
A270 degree turn to the left ahead
Road curves to the left, and side road entering from the right
CWinding road ahead - first curve to the left

The main road curves to the left, and traffic may enter the main road from the right. Traffic on the main road has the right-of-way as indicated by the arrow. 

As the view is limited at this intersection, you should slow down and be prepared that traffic on the side road may enter the main road as they don’t see you coming.

Solid yellow lines:

display
AIndicate one-way traffic
Indicate two-way traffic
CSeparate lanes of traffic traveling in the same direction

Solid lines indicate that passing is prohibited

Broken lines indicate that you may pass if you can do so safely.

Why should you brake lightly a couple of times after driving through a deep puddle?

display
Because the braking performance can be reduced if the brakes are wet
BBecause there’s a much higher chance of a tire blowout if the tires are wet
CBecause the vehicle’s electric systems may stop working otherwise

Braking lightly a couple of times evaporates the water and makes your brakes function properly again. Consider this a good safety precaution after driving through deep water or a deep puddle.

Is the North Carolina Permit Test Hard?

Yes and no. A staggering 50% fail the written test nation-wide, but it really comes down to how well you’ve prepared.

Zutobi’s material is designed to be easy to learn and easy to remember, something we can’t say for the information in the driver’s handbook. Our North Carolina practice permit tests will prepare you for any question they throw at you.

Ace Your North Carolina Permit Test with Zutobi

Zutobi is specifically designed to give you real-world experience before you can actually make costly, real-world mistakes. Here’s how:

  • Learn all the rules of the road using our summarized North Carolina driver’s handbook.
  • Test your knowledge with North Carolina DMV permit practice tests. Learn from your mistakes with explanations to all of our multiple choice questions.
  • Gamification lets you have fun while you study. Earn points, achievements, badges, and more.
  • Learn useful information like road signs, traffic laws, and driving techniques like using your turn signal to change lanes, which is required every time.
  • Learn from anywhere at any time from any device.
  • Save time, money, and brain cells by studying for your permit test right the first time.

How Can I Pass My Permit Test in North Carolina?

Try our free North Carolina DMV permit practice test now, then sign up for our course to get going on your way to your learner’s permit.

Ace your DMV test, guaranteed