Whether you’re looking to get a Nebraska driver’s license so you can explore the Great Plains, plan a trip to the Sandhills, or just get to school or work on your own terms, you’ll be helped by this comprehensive guide that outlines all the necessary steps you need to take.
If you’re a brand new driver you may apply for a learner’s permit if you are within 60 days of your 15th birthday. However, it cannot be issued until you turn 15.
To receive your permit, you need to pass a vision test and a written examination that evaluates your knowledge of Nebraska driving laws. If you have previously held a school permit, the written test may be waived.
There are two types you can apply for:
If you would like to know more about this part of the licensing process, we recommend that you read our in-depth Nebraska Learner’s Permit Guide.
As you get older and more experienced, the state grants you additional driving privileges. You may apply for a Provisional Nebraska Operator’s Permit (POP) if you are within 60 days of your 16th birthday, but it will not be issued until your actual birthday.
In order to be eligible to apply, you’ll have to have held an LPE, SCP or LPD for at least six months and not more than one year after they expire. In addition, you may not have more than three points on your record within the last six months.
You’ll also have to show proof of successfully completing an approved driver safety course or present a 50-hour driving log that illustrates your experience. It must include 10 nighttime driving hours and be signed by a parent or guardian.
Be sure to bring all these documents along with your birth certificate, social security card and two documents that show a Nebraska address.
If you completed a driver safety course, your written and road tests will be waived. If you are bringing a driving log, you’ll need to pass a vision and road test only.
A POP allows you to drive unsupervised between 6 a.m. and midnight. Restrictions do not apply if you are driving to or from school or work. In addition, during the initial six months, you may only have one passenger under the age of 19 who is not in your immediate family riding with you.
Once you have reached the age of 18, you are eligible to hold a standard Nebraska operator driver’s license. If you have held a provisional operator’s permit for at least 12 months, you may obtain your full operator’s driver’s license at the age of 17 by applying online.
If you are a brand new driver or hold a license from another country, you’ll need to fill out a data form at a licensing branch. Be sure to bring a birth certificate, social security card, and two documents that prove state residency. During your visit, you’ll need to pass a vision test, written examination on state driving laws and rules, and road test. Show proof of insurance, and pay a fee to complete the process.
That’s everything you need to know about getting your driver’s license in Nebraska. We hope this guide has helped you out and that you now feel comfortable with the steps moving forward. If you need any help studying for your upcoming knowledge or driving exams, then Zutobi is the perfect study resource with a summarized handbook, Nebraska permit practice tests, and a gamified experience.
550+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Ace your DMV test, guaranteed