Renewing your Nebraska driver’s license may seem like an intimidating task, but it doesn’t have to be. In this article, you will learn everything you need to know about the renewal process and the different options you have.
You will be required to renew your Nebraska driver’s license every 5 years. The DMV will send you a renewal notice 30 days prior to remind you about your upcoming renewal. If you’re under 21, your license will expire on your 21st birthday.
You will be required to pay a fee to renew your license. At the time of writing, the fee will be $28.50. Keep in mind that renewal fees may be subject to change, so make sure to check the latest fees at the Nebraska DMV website.
The state of Nebraska allows drivers to renew their licenses in a variety of ways. These include in-person, online, and by mail.
Many Nebraskans opt towards renewing their license in person at the DMV. You can do this at any driver licensing office in the state.
To renew your license in person, you will need to complete the following steps:
You can only renew your Nebraska driver’s license online if you meet the following requirements:
To complete an online renewal, you must first visit Nebraska’s online portal. There, you’ll be able to complete your application and confirm your eligibility to complete an online renewal. You will be then asked to provide your email address and 2 documents proving your Nebraska residency. Once you pay the license fee, your license will be sent to you in the mail.
Renewal by mail is an option if you are a military member on active duty, or are currently working or studying out of state. You may renew by mail up to one year after license expiration.
To do so, you must complete an out of state renewal data form and complete the necessary vision testing requirements. The Nebraska DMV also requests you provide a copy of your current driver’s license, as well as two documents proving your residency. Mail this information, along with your out of state address and phone number, to the address below:
Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles
PO Box 94726
Lincoln, NE 68509
In Nebraska, you have up to one year to renew your drivers license after the expiration date. After that, you will have to apply for a new one and go through the licensing process again.
Furthermore, you are eligible to renew your license up to 90 days prior to the expiration date listed on your license card. Be sure to renew on time, as driving on an expired license is a criminal offense that could lead to fines, license suspension, and possible jail time.
That’s everything you need to know about renewing your driver’s license in Nebraska, make sure to do so well before your license expires to avoid unnecessary complications. If you need help studying for renewal exams, then Zutobi is the perfect study resource with state-of-the-art Nebraska refresher exams.
550+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Ace your DMV test, guaranteed