If you are looking to get your Nebraska Learner’s Permit, you’ve come to the right place. In this article, we’ll go through all the details so you know exactly what to do and what to expect.
The first step toward getting a license is to get a learner’s permit. It gives you the ability to practice driving under the supervision of a licensed adult.
You’ll need to be at least 15 to apply for your learner’s permit – you can do so at a Nebraska licensing bureau with a parent or guardian. Bring your social security card, birth certificate, and two documents proving state residency.
To receive your permit, you need to display a passing grade on both of the following:
To prepare for your written examination, we strongly recommend that you take our free Nebraska practice test or our written test prep course. The written examination may be waived if you previously held a school permit.
Because Nebraska has a fair amount of wide-open spaces, the state allows younger teenagers to drive in certain areas under specific conditions. If you live or go to school outside a city with a population of 5,000 or more, you may be eligible for a school permit (SCP).
Before obtaining an SCP, you’ll have to apply for a school learner’s permit (LPE), which will give you permission to practice driving with an adult who is 21 years old or older. If you’ve reached your 14th birthday and are prepared to take the written examination, which will test your knowledge of Nebraska traffic laws, you can head to the licensing bureau with a parent or guardian.
Be sure to bring your birth certificate, social security number, and two documents that show your Nebraska address. You can use your parents’ utility bills, credit card statements, mortgage notifications, or similar documents.
You’ll need to hold your LPE for at least two months, but it will expire in three months, so you only have a brief window for the initial learning. During this period, you’ll have to either:
If you opted to take the driver safety course, your test requirements at the licensing bureau will be waived if you bring the proper documentation along with identification and proof of residency. You may also be able to apply online for your SCP. If you choose to log hours, you’ll need to pass a vision and road test at the licensing bureau. Be sure to bring the proper documentation and money to pay the fees.
Once you hold an SCP, you are allowed to drive anytime if you are being supervised by an adult who is 21 years old or older. In addition, you may drive unsupervised if you are traveling to or from school, including classes and extracurricular activities, using the most direct and accessible route. You are allowed to drive a family member attending the same event.
You will need to hold your learners permit, SCP, or LPE for at least 6 months before you can progress to an operator’s permit. Additionally, you must complete a driver safety course OR present a driving log with 50 hours of supervised driving, of which 10 hours must be at night.
That’s everything you need to know about getting your Nebraska learner’s permit. If you need any help studying for your upcoming knowledge or driving exams, then Zutobi is the perfect study resource with a summarized handbook, Nebraska practice tests, and a gamified learning experience.
550+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Ace your DMV test, guaranteed