To legally operate a motor vehicle in the state of Pennsylvania, you will be required to apply for and take the state’s driving test.
If you are under the age of 18, you must apply for a learner’s permit and complete supervised driving practice and driver’s education before being allowed to take their road test.
It is required under Pennsylvania state law and serves as a period for young drivers to obtain the skills needed to operate a vehicle safely within the state. Young drivers are also required to have 65 hours behind the wheel before being eligible to take the driving test.
You are eligible to receive your learner license at 16 years of age and you must wait 6 months to sit for your driving test and receive your full permanent license.
Drivers under the age of 18 must complete driver’s education and supervised driving before legally being allowed to drive in the state of Pennsylvania.