Taking, and passing the Rhode Island driving test can be a nerve-wracking experience for new drivers of all ages. It is oftentimes the last obstacle between you and your brand new license. For this reason, it is incredibly important that you are prepared to ace the exam.
There are few action items that must be completed before you can take the road test. Without them, you won’t be allowed to sit for the exam. Be sure to have these items sorted.
You can present this Eye Test Card completed by a state-licensed physician, physician’s assistant, optometrist, or ophthalmologist or have the exam done at the RI DMV.
New drivers are required to take the knowledge test in order to be able to take the Rhode Island road exam. All exams must be taken at the DMV headquarters in Cranston. The test is computerized and available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
With 50 questions on the knowledge exam and 40 correct answers needed to pass, studying for the knowledge exam can be a daunting experience. Many students opt towards utilizing the Rhode Island Driver’s Handbook. We recommend Zutobi, our e-learning platform designed to streamline your comprehension of traffic laws and road signs in the state.
All drivers, regardless of age, are required to obtain their instruction permit before earning full driving privileges in the state. You’ll receive a permit after successfully passing both the vision and written exam at the DMV.
Driver’s education is required to receive an instruction permit if you’re a minor, but it is waived if you are over 18.
While new residents are not required to take the road exam in order to transfer their driver’s license, you may take one if you’d like a reevaluation of your driving skills. New residents are only required to visit the DMV with an application, documentation, and a transfer fee.
You will be required to bring your own vehicle to the DMV on the day of your road test appointment. There are a few requirements your car must meet before its use will be allowed on the exam.
Your test administrator will check to see that your vehicle is properly insured and registered. Additionally, you’ll want to make sure the following is intact:
Your vehicle may be turned away if it does not meet these requirements. You will also have to reschedule your exam.
Here is a list of some common maneuvers you may be asked to perform:
If you passed your road test, congratulations! The DMV will ask you to turn in your instruction permit (or out-of-state license). The DMV clerk will then hand you a temporary license and you’ll be on your way! A permanent copy of your license will be mailed to you within 15 business days.
In Rhode Island, you’ll need to wait 30 days before you’ll be allowed to take the road test again after a failed attempt. If you fail twice, you’ll have to wait 90 days. After your third failed attempt, you’ll be required to wait 180 days.
Failing your driving exam is not as big of a deal as you think. However, it is very important that you pay attention to your examiner’s feedback following your exam. He or she will have all the knowledge you need to know in order to pass the next time.
That’s all there is to passing the Rhode Island road test. It can be a very confusing experience if you’re not familiar with the process. If you need any help studying for your upcoming exams, then Zutobi is the perfect study guide with online practice tests, a summarized handbook, and practical driving tips that will help you immensely during the actual road exam.
550+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Ace your DMV test, guaranteed