Do you need to take the Utah road test? You may be feeling a bit nervous about the idea of even preparing to take such a monumental exam. However, it is not nearly as complicated as you might expect.
In this blog, we break down everything you need to know about passing the road test as easily as possible.
There are a few prerequisite steps that are necessary to take before you’ll be allowed to take the road test in Utah. Pay close attention – many of these are dependent on your age and some people may be exempt from certain requirements.
All drivers will be required to complete a vision exam. You must exhibit a vision score of at least 20/40 and peripheral fields of 120 degrees in at least one eye to pass the vision exam.
All new drivers will be required to obtain a learner permit before taking the road test. If you’re 18 years and younger, you will need to hold your permit for 6 months and take a driver education course. Many Utah high schools offer driver education, but it is also available via commercial schools and online courses as well. The school’s curriculum must include:
While adults 19 years and older are required to get a permit, they are given an option for how to proceed forward. You can simply hold your permit for 90 days and complete 40 hours of behind-the-wheel driving. Alternatively, you can complete a driver education course and take the driving exam immediately upon completion. If you opt for taking driver education, this waives the 90-day holding period for your learner permit.
Like the vision exam, the written test is another examination you’ll be required to take before you’ll be allowed to take the driving test. There are 30 questions on the exam that will test your knowledge of various road laws and traffic signs throughout the state. You will be required to answer 24 correctly in order to earn a passing score of 80%.
Many new drivers struggle with studying for the written exam. To make sure that you’ve prepared properly, you can practice with an interactive tool like Zutobi. Our platform has dozens of gamified learning modules and practice tests to make sure you’re more than ready to pass your knowledge test on the first attempt.
New residents to the state of Utah are exempt from the above requirements if they hold a current driver’s license from another state. You’ll need to visit the DMV with your out-of-state license to apply for a transfer.
The Utah DMV requires that drivers provide their own car for the driving test. It must be in good mechanical condition and safe to operate. You must also possess up to date registration and insurance documents for the vehicle. Be sure to bring these documents and ensure your car is in immaculate shape.
Your vehicle must contain:
Your vehicle will be turned away if its condition could cause harm to the examiner’s person or clothes. It must also comply with basic vehicle safety laws.
You are able to complete the driving exam at either the Utah DMV, a high school campus, or a certified Third Party tester. All entities requires students to bring their learner’s permit, as well as valid registration and insurance for the vehicle.
It is a good idea to show up about 15 minutes early for your driving exam. If you’re late, you likely will be disallowed from taking the exam on that day. You’ll be tested on road rules and regulations, as well as proper driving techniques and other important elements of safe driving.
Below is a checklist of things you may be evaluated on during the Utah road test.
If you passed your road test, congratulations! You’ll need to turn in your learner’s permit or out-of-state license if you have one. In Utah, a $78 road test fee will be assessed after successful completion of the test. Your permanent license card will be sent to your address on file.
It may feel very disheartening to fail the road test. However, it is not a big deal at all. Be sure to take note of what your examiner identified as your mistakes and what you may have done incorrectly. This will let you know exactly what you’ll need to practice continually until you are comfortable. When you’re ready to take the exam again, simply schedule another appointment.
That’s all there is to passing the road test in Utah. Many students pass their exams on the first attempt, so there is no need to worry. Be sure to reference this guide whenever you may need some assistance and good luck on your test!
600+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Ace your DMV test, guaranteed