If you’re looking to get your Utah Learner’s Permit or to learn about the process, you’ve come to the right place. In this article, we’ll go through all the details so you know exactly what to do and what to expect.
A learner’s permit allows you to practice driving supervised by a licensed driver. You can apply for one when you turn 15.
In Utah, you need to apply for a learner’s permit if you fall under any of the following categories:
If you are over 21 years old, you can skip the learner’s permit stage by completing driver’s education and taking the driving test (road skills test) to immediately progress to a full driver’s license. You decide if you want to hold a learner’s permit for 90 days OR completing driver’s education.
Regardless of your age and what option you choose, you must complete the eye test and the written test to move on.
The first thing you need to do is to fill out this application.
Before heading to the Utah DPS, schedule an appointment to save time and avoid long lines.
At the DPS, you will need to have the following documents with you:
The eye exam will be administered when you submit your application at the Utah DPS. To be eligible for a permit, you have to pass the vision exam with a score of 20/40 or higher.
In addition to the eye exam, you also have to pass the written knowledge test.
The written knowledge exam consists of 50 questions and based upon the information related to important traffic laws and road signs. You must score 80% or higher, answering at least 40 questions correctly. If you fail, you are allowed to take the exam one more time on the same day. After three attempts, you will be required to pay an additional fee.
With 50 questions on the exam, gathering all the information to be successful can be nerve-wracking. Instead of spending hours rummaging through the 100-page Utah Driver’s Handbook, Zutobi presents learners with carefully prepared gamified modules to help you truly understand and retain core driving concepts – learning the rules of the road has never been easier.
You can try our free practice test here.
Minors under the age of 17 will be required to obtain consent from a parent or legal guardian.
At the time of writing, the driver’s permit application fee in Utah is $19.
The state of Utah imposes certain restrictions for drivers with a permit. These restrictions will vary depending on your age.
You may schedule your final license appointment and apply for your drivers’ license after you have held your permit for six months. If you turn 18 during this period, you may apply for your license on your birthday. Remember, you must complete driver’s education and complete 40 hours of driving (with 10 hours at night) first!
That’s everything you need to know about getting your learner’s permit in the state of Utah. If you need any help studying for your upcoming knowledge or driving exams, then Zutobi is the perfect study resource with a summarized handbook, Utah practice tests, and a gamified learning experience.
600+ exam-like questions
All you need to ace your test
Perfect for first-timers, renewals and senior citizens
Ace your DMV test, guaranteed