by Zutobi · Updated Dec 13, 2021
The learner’s permit is the first step to the GDL program in Maine. You are eligible for one after you’ve turned 15 years old. We will go through the entire process step-by-step so you know what to expect, as well as any permit requirements.
How to Get a Learner’s Permit in Maine
Follow the following steps to apply for your permit:
- If you are under 18 years of age, you’ll need to complete one of the approved driver education courses within the state. You’ll also need to present your certificate of completion to the Maine BMV.
- Bring completed permit application to the BMV. You can download and fill it out online, or grab a copy when you arrive.
- Present proper documentation at the BMV. You’ll need to bring the following:
- Proof of birthdate
- Proof of identification (two forms)
- Proof of citizenship and/or legal presence
- Proof of Maine residency
- Driver Education certificate, if under 18
- Pay learner’s permit fee. The BMV accepts cash or credit/debit card.
- Schedule and take the written test. The written exam is the most difficult part of getting a learner’s permit in Maine. It consists of 30 questions that test you on road signs, traffic laws, and other rules of the road. You must answer 24 questions correctly in order to pass the exam. Instead of taking the written and vision exam on the same day, the BMV will process your application and send a notice in the mail within 3 weeks notifying you of your appointment. Your test will be scheduled at the location nearest to your home. If you can’t take the test, you can reschedule up to 48 hours prior to the appointment with no extra fee.
- Take the vision test. On the day of your exam appointment, you will also be required to take a vision exam. Alternatively, you can have your doctor complete an exam at your expense and fill out the exam form.
- Receive your permit.
We recommend that you study with a proper study resource. That’s where Zutobi comes in – we make studying for your test easy with our summarized driver’s handbook, up-to-date Maine practice tests, and gamified learning experience. There’s a reason 95% of our students pass their test on their 1st try.
Maine Learner’s Permit Restrictions
The state of Maine imposes different restrictions on permit holders depending on their age.
Restrictions if you’re over 18:
- May only operate with a licensed adult over the age of 20
- Cannot use cell phone or other electronic device while operating
Restrictions if you’re under 18:
- Must be accompanied that is at least 20 years or older with a valid operator’s license. They must sit in the passenger’s seat
- Cannot use cellphone or other electronic device while operating
If you’re over 18, then you can skip the intermediate license and go straight to their unrestricted driver’s license. For drivers under 18, you’ll need to satisfy the following requirements:
- Hold your learner’s permit for at least 6 months.
- Log supervised driving. You’ll need at least 70 hours of practice driving, including 10 hours driving at night. Fill in the driving log to present it when you go and get your license.
- Mail road test request card. You received one of these cards with your permit. Mail it with your driving log to the following address:
The Bureau of Motor Vehicles29 State House StationAugusta, Maine 04333-0029
If you satisfy the requirements listed above, you will need to go to the BMV with your documents and pass a driving skills test to get your intermediate license.